The last time you took a drivers’ education course, you were probably in high school preparing to get your first license. You don’t need to learn when to put on your turn signal, how to use your rear-view mirror and other driving basics, but you could improve your driving skills and lower your insurance premium with a defensive driving course. Many of the nation’s leading auto insurance companies offer discounts, if you enroll in such an approved course. When you obtain auto insurance quotes, find out what discounts are available for additional driving classes.
Why should you take a defensive driving course?
You could get a premium discount
Even though you’ve been behind the wheel for years and consider yourself a good driver, you can still learn ways to avoid accidents. A defensive driving course will teach you how to avoid collisions and deal with reckless or distracted drivers who make the roads unsafe. The course also gives you an overview of today’s vehicle and traffic laws. You can take a course in a classroom or you may be able to complete the course online at home. The courses usually take between six and eight hours.
Before signing up for a defensive driving course, make sure it is accredited with your state’s department of motor vehicles, so you can get credit for it. Many auto insurance providers, will give you discounted rates after you have completed an approved defensive driving course. In New York, for instance, you are can receive a 10 percent discount. The reduction is good for up to three years. After that time, you may take the course again to maintain your discount.
If you are interested in enrolling in a defensive driving class, visit your state's department of motor vehicles Web site or give them a call. If your state's DMV doesn't offer a course, they probably partner with another organization, such as AAA or the National Safety Council. Find out what discounts are available in your state to get the cheapest auto insurance quotes.
It may take points off your driving record
Enrolling in a defensive driving course may also deduct points on your driving record, depending on your state’s laws. In New York, for example, you can get as many as four points taken off your record, after you complete a defensive driving course. Generally, only those points you have acquired within the 18 months immediately before you complete your course are affected. A defensive driving course will not help you reduce points for earlier violations – or future ones. If your violation hearing has already been scheduled or if your license has already been revoked, or suspended, you won’t be able to take advantage of the point reduction associated with a defensive driving course. Check with your state's department of motor vehicles for more information.
It can benefit older drivers
If you are 55 or older, you may be able to benefit from taking a refresher training course or a driver improvement class. In many states, your auto insurer may give you a discount for completing these classes. Check out AAA’s SeniorDrivers.org Web site for more information. If you have a safe driving record, you may be eligible for a safe-driver discount.
When you are ready to buy a new policy, you can call agents in your local area, contact insurance companies directly or use InsuranceQuotes.com to instantly get competitive auto insurance quotes from the nation’s leading insurance providers. Simply fill out a simple online form on InsuranceQuotes.com to find the right insurance coverage at the best possible price. Take the time to protect you and your family today.