Arkansas Auto Insurance Quotes
Arkansas law requires liability insurance on vehicles registered in Arkansas. If you own a car in the state, you must carry a minimum of:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 for property damage
Insurance companies must also offer you uninsured, underinsured, and personal injury protection. These cover you for things like your own personal injuries or damages to your personal property.
There are many auto insurance discounts for things like multi-car and multi-policy. Good students also receive discounts. Arkansas state law requires insurance companies to offer a discount to those 55 and older who complete a motor vehicle accident prevention course. The Office of Motor Vehicles must approve the course.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Arkansas
The Arkansas Insurance Department is a great resource for information. Arkansas state law requires insurance companies to complete a premium comparison survey. They have to show premiums charged for several typical varying scenarios. The Insurance Department publishes this information for all consumers. They also publish information on annual rate changes and a brochure that explains terms and types of coverage available. he best way to save on auto insurance is to use an auto insurance comparison site like insuranceQuotes to get the most affordable price on your auto insurance policy in Arkansas.
Other Auto Insurance Coverage in Arkansas
Uninsured motorists insurance gives you protection if you or a member of your household is hurt in an accident with someone who doesn’t have coverage. You can also get coverage to pay for property damage caused by an uninsured motorist. Underinsured motorists protection covers you for injuries if the person causing the accident doesn’t have enough to cover all the costs.
Arkansas maintains an Automobile Assigned Risk Plan. Your insurance agent can apply for you if you need it.
Moving to Arkansas: Important Information
If you move to Arkansas, you have 30 days to register your vehicle and get a driver’s license. You’ll need a copy of your current registration, proof of insurance, and the title or proof that a lender is holding the title. You must also show proof that you don’t owe property taxes on the vehicle.
To get an Arkansas license, you can simply surrender your current license and show proof of United States residency. As long as the license isn’t expired, you don’t have to take any exams. If your license is expired, you may have to take a vision exam, a written exam, and a road test.
Understanding Driving Laws in Arkansas
Arkansas uses an Administrative Point System to identify problem drivers. Points vary for different violations. A computer program searches all driver records to identify those that require action. For example, if your record comes up with 10-13 points, you receive a warning letter. If your record shows more than 14 points, you receive a notice about possible suspension. A hearing is automatically scheduled. If you don’t show for the hearing, your license is suspended for a specified period of time.
Frequently Asked Questions About Arkansas Auto Insurance
Do you have to buy car insurance in Arkansas?
Liability coverage is required on all registered vehicles. Arkansas law sets the limits.
Can you purchase more liability insurance than the law requires?
The coverage amounts you choose are up to you as long as they meet the minimum limits set by state law. Your agent can help you determine if you need more coverage and how much additional coverage to buy.
Do you have to purchase collision and comprehensive insurance?
If your car is leased or financed, your lender will require this coverage to protect its financial investment. If you don’t maintain this coverage, the lender will purchase a policy that you will be required to pay.
What if your car is a total loss and the insurance isn’t enough to cover the loan?
You are responsible to pay off the balance of the loan if the amount paid by the insurance company isn’t enough. You can purchase GAP insurance to protect you in this situation.
How to Get Great Rates on Arkansas Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.