How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Alaska?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Alaska is unique in the United States – drivers must carry a minimum of liability insurance, as long as you live in a part of the state that also required you to register your vehicle. That means, for more than 300 communities in rural Alaska, carrying auto insurance is not legally required for most drivers.

For the rest of the state, Alaska requires anyone owning a vehicle to carry car liability insurance. Minimum coverage amounts are:

You may lose your driver’s license if this insurance isn’t in effect. Before reinstatement, you must show proof of financial responsibility, and you’ll have to pay fees. Alaska statute 28.22.019 requires that a copy of your policy or your insurance identification card be carried with you when you’re driving a motor vehicle, and proof of insurance if you’re in an accident where damages or injury result in more than a certain dollar amount, which was $501 as of 2013.

Car Insurance Rates for Alaska

It’s important to shop around for insurance. Companies compete for your business, so getting the best policy at the best rate takes some homework. Ask about discounts. There are several, such as multi-policy, good student, and multi-car discounts that save you money in Alaska. Each company will offer a discount of a certain percentage for these factors, so base your decisions on which apply to you and which companies offer the largest discounts. You should always compare at least 4 auto insurance rate quotes before getting new auto insurance rates.

Alaska County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Aleutians East$785$692$770$794$842
Aleutians West$785$692$770$794$842
Bristol Bay$785$692$770$794$842
Fairbanks North Star$810$718$794$827$866
Kenai Peninsula$781$693$764$795$833
Ketchikan Gateway$632$566$618$647$670
Kodiak Island$706$626$693$714$756
Lake And Peninsula$785$692$770$794$842
North Slope$785$692$770$794$842
Northwest Arctic$785$692$770$794$842
Prince of Wales-Hyder$632$566$618$647$670
Southeast Fairbanks$817$692$785$824$878
Wade Hampton$785$692$770$794$842

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Alaska

Alaska residents have many resources available to help when shopping for auto insurance. The Division of Insurance is a great place to start. You’ll find a consumer guide that may help in finding a good insurance company and what to do in the event your insurance company goes out of business. You’ll also find a guide that explains the required coverage and optional types of coverage, like uninsured motorists and collision.

If you’re not able to get auto insurance, Alaska has a resource that can help you. The Alaska Insurance Plan is an association of insurers that provide coverage to people who can’t get insurance on the open market.

Things to Know About Auto Insurance in Alaska

Alaska law requires insurance companies to offer a written quote for uninsured motorists coverage. Insurance companies must provide you with a variety of coverage options. The insurance company is required to insure you for this coverage if you don’t officially reject it.

As an Alaska resident, you can exclude a driver in your household. If a driver in your household is a greater risk than others, your insurance company may ask to exclude him or her.

Insurance companies may use your credit information. They use this information to set rates and determine who they insure. However, changes to the laws in the state have set guidelines about the type of information used and how it is considered by insurance companies. This protects the consumer to some extent, as insurance companies can no longer flat out deny you coverage based on a poor credit score.

If you don’t purchase insurance, you  must have the means to cover damages or injury to the other person in the event of an accident. You can post a bond or self-insure, however, the DMV must authorize self-insurance.

Important Information About Moving to Alaska

If you move to Alaska, you have 30 days to get a driver’s license. To get a license, you must pass a written knowledge test, an alcohol and drug awareness test, and a vision test. You must also show proof of your legal name and your current address.

You also have 10 days to register your vehicle, unless you have moved to one of the 300 rurual communities in the state that doesn’t require vehicle registration. , unless you

Understanding Driving Laws in Alaska

If you drive in Alaska, you must use a hands-free device to talk on the phone and cannot text while driving. Talking on the phone using a hand or texting while driving is illegal and can result in stiff penalties.

Alaska encourages drivers to report dangerous drivers. The state provides information on what to look for, and signs along the roadways remind drivers to call emergency services if they see anyone driving dangerously.

Frequently Asked Questions About Alaska Auto Insurance

What other types of coverage should you get?

The law requires only liability insurance, but you may consider other things like uninsured motorists coverage. In addition, if your car is new or you took out a loan, you should consider collision and comprehensive, which cover the cost to repair or replace your car.

What happens if you only have minimum coverage and your car gets damaged in an accident?

Liability coverage only covers the other person in the event of injury or death when the other person’s property is damaged. To cover your own vehicle, you’ll need collision or comprehensive insurance, or both.

What if you’re in an accident and the other driver doesn’t have coverage?

If you have uninsured motorists coverage, you will be covered up to your limits. If not, you are responsible for repairing or replacing your vehicle.

Can I carry electronic proof of insurance?

Yes. Alaska is among a majority of states that allow electronic proof of auto insurance at traffic stops. You simply have to have your insurance provider’s app downloaded onto your smartphone.

How to Get Great Rates on Alaska Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance. Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.