Get Free Boston Auto Insurance Rates Fast from the most trusted companies.

Compare the best car insurance providers in MA today.

Looking to learn more about Boston and how you can get cheap car insurance in MA? Boston is a beacon to United States history buffs. Boston was founded by Puritans in 1630 and is one of the oldest cities in the U.S. The city was the site of such historical events as the Boston Massacre and the Boston Tea Party. If you haven’t visited either area yet, they’re definitely ones to consider.

Boston roadways see a lot of traffic. The Boston metropolitan area was determined to be home to more than 4.7 million people. With so many drivers on the road, you’ll want to be on the lookout for a good car insurance policy while driving in the city.

Requirements for Car Insurance in Boston, MA

You probably already know that some forms of auto insurance coverage are optional in Boston and the rest of Massachusetts. For example, with Boston car insurance, drivers are not required by the state to have comprehensive or collision coverage.

But you’ll need to carry at least cheap car insurance in Boston to adhere to Massachusetts law and policies. According to the DMV, When it comes to car insurance, Massachusetts requires its drivers to carry 4 types of coverage with the following amounts:

That’s the minimum insurance in Boston you need to drive legally, but insurance companies also offer products that can be nice to have when buying car insurance in MA. When you get a quote for cheap car insurance in Boston, consider if you would be interested in rental insurance, meaning in the event your car is unoperational due to theft or an accident you are able to rent a car at low or no cost to you, and towing and labor coverage, which means you have some options for roadside assistance in the event of a breakdown or accident. Adding such insurance services will increase the cost of your cheap car insurance in Boston but may well be worth it in the event of an emergency.

Driving Conditions in Boston

Driving conditions during the summer months are complicated by the rain, but Boston drivers have rain as well as snow during the winter months. All the more reason to carry Boston car insurance! Also during the summer months and springtime there are frequent incidences of fog that can make it difficult for drivers to see on the roads. Hurricanes and tropical storms only occur on an occasional basis during the fall months, but when they do, you’ll be grateful you bought cheap car insurance in Boston.

Crime Statistics in Boston

Authorities reported 1,610 vehicle thefts in Boston, along with 13,147 larcenies and 3,096 burglaries, according to the FBI. If you buy the right coverage, cheap car insurance in Boston can help you get back on the road if you are a victim of vehicle theft.

Safety Requirements in Boston

Seatbelt laws

In Massachusetts, every vehicle driver and passenger must wear a seat belt (with a few exceptions). Anyone over 16 who’s found not wearing a seat belt can be fined $25. If passengers under 16 aren’t wearing seat belts, the driver can be fined $25 for each of those passengers.Under Massachusetts law, any child under age 5 and any child weighing 40 pounds or less must ride in a child passenger restraint, such as a booster seat, car seat or infant seat. Also, a child under 8 must be fastened into a child passenger restraint, unless the child is at least 57 inches tall.

Helmet Laws

Any bicycle operator or passenger under 16 must wear a helmet. Regardless of age, every motorcycle operator or passenger must wear a helmet.

A violation of the bicycle helmet law can lead to a fine of up to $20.

Anyone violating the motorcycle helmet law faces a fine of $35 for the first offense and a fine of $75 to $100 for the second offense. In addition, a violator can be hit with an insurance surcharge that lasts at least six years.

Cellphone Use Laws

Massachusetts law prohibits texting while driving. However, it allows talking on a cellphone while driving (unless the driver is under 18).

Violating the texting-while-driving law can result in a $100 fine for a first offense, $250 fine for a second offense and $500 fine for a third offense.

Impaired Driving Law

In Massachusetts, what people in other states know as DUI or DWI is called operating under the influence (OUI), which covers alcohol and drugs. For someone 21 and over, the OUI limit for blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent; if you’re under 21, it’s 0.02 percent. No minimum jail sentence is required for a first-time OUI offender; for a second-time offender, it’s 30 days, and for a third-time offender, it’s 150 days.
A first-time offender can lose his or her driver’s license for up to one year; for a second-time offender, the maximum is two years, and for a third-time offender it’s eight years. Repeat offenders also are required to install an interlock device in their car. Refusing to take a breath test also may cause you to lose your license in Massachusetts.