Get Free Detroit Auto Insurance Rates Fast from the most trusted companies.

Compare the best car insurance providers in MI today.

Want to know more about Detroit and how to get cheap car insurance? Detroit became the center of the automotive industry in the United States when Henry Ford opened the Ford Motor Company here in 1903. Unfortunately, that same industry now has been in decline in the state of Michigan for more than 60 years. More than 4.2 million people called the Detroit metro area home. A lot of people means a lot of drivers, so getting some insurance quotes for the best car insurance in Michigan is a good idea if you’re planning on driving.

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Detroit, you’ve come to the right place. Insurance Quotes can help you in your search for the lowest rates and the best car insurance in Michigan. Start by entering your zip code above, then fill out the form to receive several Detroit car insurance quotes from various insurance companies. You can then decide which insurance agency to choose. Locating cheap car insurance in Detroit, MI has never been simpler.

Detroit Car Insurance Requirements

You may be on the lookout for the cheapest auto insurance you can find, but as you get quotes from insurance companies in Detroit, be sure you’re looking at coverage that meets the minimum requirements for cheap car insurance in MI. Any of the insurance quotes in Michigan you choose must include no-fault insurance that offers coverage for bodily injury/property damage (BI/PD), property protection insurance (PPI), and personal injury protection (PIP). More details about auto insurance requirements can be found at Michigan.gov.

Driving Conditions in Detroit

Driving during the wintertime can be a challenge because of the extensive snowfall that lasts on average from December to February. During the spring and summer months, Detroit residents continue to have driving challenges because of the severe thunderstorms. Drivers will need to take extra precautions during these times because thunderstorms often bring hail and very strong winds as well as the occasional tornado.

Crime Statistics in Detroit

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Detroit had the second highest number of automobile thefts when 1,419 vehicles were stolen. The bureau also recorded 2,070 incidents of larceny and 2,117 incidents of burglary in the city.
Authorities in Detroit reported 7,820 burglaries, 14,523 larcenies and 5,216 vehicle thefts increased, according to the FBI.

Driving Laws in Detroit

Seatbelt Laws

Under Michigan law, a drive or front-seat passenger must buckle up, and a passenger 8 to 15 must buckle up whether in the front seat or back seat, according to the Michigan State Police.
Meanwhile, children under 4 must ride in a car seat in the rear seat (if the vehicle has a rear seat). If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may ride in the front seat only if the airbag is turned off.
Kids must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat until reaching age 8 or a height of 4 feet, 9 inches. A child must ride in a seat until reaching the age or height requirement, whichever comes first.

Helmet Laws

Michigan law allows motorcyclists to go without a helmet as long as they are at least 21, have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits, and have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years or have passed a motorcycle safety course, according to the Michigan Secretary of State’s Office. A motorcycle passenger 21 and over can go without a helmet if he or she has at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance in addition to the insurance required of the motorcycle operator. Operators and passengers under 21 must wear a helmet.
Bicycle operators and passengers in Michigan aren’t required to wear helmets.

Cellphone Use Laws

The City of Detroit bans use of a handheld electronic device while driving. That goes further than Michigan law, which bans texting while driving if an electronic device is in adult driver’s hand or lap. Under state law, all teenage drivers are prohibited from using a handheld cellphone while driving.

Impaired Driving Law

Under Michigan law, impaired driving falls into several categories, according to the Michigan Secretary of State’s Office:

Among the penalties are a mandatory six-month license suspension, even for a first conviction; a mandatory one-year license suspension for a first conviction with a BAC of at least 0.17 percent; five days to one year in jail or 30 to 90 days of community service for a second conviction of drunk or drugged driving; a “responsibility” fee of $500 or $1,000, depending on the crime; and a license reinstatement fee of $125.