How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Wyoming?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Like most states, Wyoming requires certain minimum insurance coverage in order to drive any motor vehicle on public roads. While most people understand the value of collision insurance, liability can be a little more complicated. The state requires that all drivers must have the following minimum liability minimum protection levels:

Also, in Wyoming, you don’t have to purchase car insurance if you can prove financial responsibility. You can do this purchasing a bond with a surety company.

You should understand that those minimums are for drivers with few personal assets. If you own a house or other assets worth more than those minimum amounts, the result of an accident could be devastating. 

Average Cost of Car Insurance Cost in Wyoming

The average cost of car insurance in Wyoming varies between each driver. We provide a breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance policy costs by county for vehicle types below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Big Horn$1,017$776$1,134$851$1,040
Hot Springs$1,017$776$1,134$851$1,040

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Wyoming

After you decide how much of each kind of insurance to carry, the next step is to locate some good sources. Consulting with insurance professionals can help you decide how best to protect your assets in case you are in an accident. The state publishes a handy personal automobile insurance guide that answers many of your questions. You can also learn more about car insurance rates and coverage as well as get free auto insurance quotes at

The Wyoming Automobile Insurance Plan

This program ensures that almost any driver can get insurance regardless of any past conviction or misdemeanors. To qualify, you must be able to show that you cannot get insurance from regular commercial auto insurance companies.

Recommendations for Wyoming Auto Insurance

There are other ways you can make sure you are getting the best possible insurance coverage at the lowest prices. Some companies have stricter lending requirements than others, but here are some suggestions on how to get the best auto insurance policy for your budget:

1. Find out how far back the company looks to check your driving record. Some go back three years and others as long as five. For example, if you have a DUI on your record from four years ago, you may want to get a policy with an insurer who will only check the past three years on your record.

2. Obtain a copy of your driving record and check it for errors. Errors on your record, such as the listing of a traffic ticket that you never received, can quickly drive up the cost of your car insurance. 

If you don’t understand any of the legal language on your policy, contact a customer service representative at your insurance company to explain the terminology.  

Moving to Wyoming: Important Information

If you have just moved to Wyoming, there are a few things you need to do right away, as required by the Wyoming Department of Transportation.

1. Wyoming is a member of the Driver’s License Compact (DLC), which allows you to keep your out-of-state driver’s license for up to a year. However, you should ensure you apply for your Wyoming driver’s license at least two months before the end of the year.

2. Under some circumstances, you may need to take a road test. If so, simply pick up a Wyoming driver’s license manual from any local exam office or online.

3. Register your vehicle at the county treasurer’s office and transfer the title from your previous state. Registration laws also apply to boats and motor homes.

4. Notify your existing auto insurance company that you have moved to Wyoming. Be warned – not all insurers serve every U.S. state so you may end up having to look for a different auto insurer if your current company doesn’t operate in Wyoming.

Understanding Driving Laws in Wyoming

Like most other states, you cannot use a phone to send a text message. However, unlike some states, people 18 and older can drive while using a hand-held device.

The state closely regulates drunken driving. The state may consider you impaired with as little as a 0.05 percent blood alcohol level. Many other states say you’re impaired with a 0.08 percent blood alcohol level.

Frequently Asked Questions About Wyoming Auto Insurance

Some of the most frequently asked questions about Wyoming auto insurance have to do with accidents and premium payment.

Who determines the cause of an accident if neither person involved accepts fault?

The local courts make that decision, not the insurance company, or the insurance commissioner. You will state your case in court, so have all your facts together with as much proof as possible.

What do you do if you are involved in an accident?

Even though there may not be any emergency, call 911. Move your car out of the way of traffic and exchange vehicle and insurance information with the other driver, if another car is involved. If there were any witnesses, ask for their names and contact information. Contact your insurance company as soon as possible to report the accident.

If a company decides to cancel your insurance for any reason, does it have to give you notice?

During the first 60 days, an insurance company can cancel your policy for any reason. After that, it must provide 30 days’ notice. If the reason is for nonpayment, the insurer can cancel it with only 10 days’ notice.

How to Get Great Rates on Wyoming Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance. Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.