Get Free Miami Auto Insurance Rates Fast from the most trusted companies.

Compare the best car insurance providers in FL today.

Want to know more about Miami and how you can get cheap car insurance? Miami is known for its exotic cars, diverse cultures and vast array of entertainment choices. Miami is a metropolitan powerhouse that boasts more than 5 million residents who enjoy patronizing the nearby beaches and numerous restaurants, clubs and shops that cater to every taste and budget. The traffic laws in Florida are strict, but they serve an important purpose as they are designed to keep drivers and pedestrians safe. Among the traffic laws is that all drivers carry automobile insurance. That means you, too! Luckily, when it comes to cheap car insurance Miami has many options.

Read on for an overview of why it’s important to have car insurance, how it works, and how you can get the cheapest car insurance Miami has to offer. You’ll also find information about driving in Miami as well as automobile-related laws and statistics. These laws have an impact on which auto insurance Miami has and the cost of the insurance.

Miami Florida auto insurance rates

Finding Cheap Car Insurance in Miami

Did you know that rates for auto insurance can vary widely across companies in the same area? You might think the rate an agency offers is going to be the same across your zip code, but quotes can change from place to place. Finding the best and cheapest coverage and the services you want can be tricky if you don’t have the right resources or an insurer who has your best interests at heart.

Because there are so many variables and details that go into car insurance, there isn’t really one average cost. Your driving record, the kind of vehicle you drive and its age, the distance and places you’re driving to each day — all of these have an impact. And that’s before you even weigh the kind of coverage you want and what deductible you want to pay for claims in the event of an accident. That’s why it’s so important to do your homework and get multiple auto quotes to find the best rate.

You’ve seen the commercials, and you know there are many companies vying for your business. With names like Geico, Progressive, Allstate and State Farm in the mix, not to mention the hundreds or more of smaller companies in the ring, you may be wondering how you will ever find out which insurance provider is the right one for you.

Fortunately, when it comes to cheap car insurance Miami has plenty to offer. Insurance Quotes can help take the leg work out of shopping for the best car insurance in Miami, FL.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Miami?

The average cost of car insurance in Miami for state minimum coverage is $1,164 a year for most drivers who have a single car auto policy and a clean driving record. The average Miami auto insurance rate monthly should be around $97.

The average cost of car insurance in Miami will also be affected by the type of vehicle on your auto policy as seen below:

  • Car (Sedan): $1,164
  • SUV: $905
  • Coupe: $1,178
  • Truck: $1,110
  • Hybrid: $1,102
Miami Auto Insurance Costs:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Palm Beach$1,050$834$1,070$1,003$997

If you live in other counties besides the three most populous in Miami, you may be able to get cheaper auto coverage options in Florida. If you are looking for the average costs of car insurance in Florida, we have broken down the costs by vehicle type and all counties in FL below:

Florida County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Indian River$940$737$946$903$893
Palm Beach$1,050$834$1,070$1,003$997
Santa Rosa$891$678$880$862$844
St. Johns$881$691$890$848$835
St. Lucie$1,019$781$988$1,011$974

Who Needs Auto Insurance in Florida?

Having a driver’s license is only one small part of what it takes to head up the highway. Legally, everybody needs auto insurance. How high you go above the minimum in level of coverage is up to you, but the state of Florida requires that every registered vehicle carry a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. Depending on your driving and legal history, meaning you’ve been in a crash before or have been convicted of certain things, you may be required to purchase additional coverage known as bodily injury liability coverage.

But why is insurance required at all? Nobody wants to be in a car accident, but what people want even less is to be in one that involves an uninsured driver, especially if the accident is no fault of their own. The benefit of insurance is that in the event of an accident, you aren’t alone in shouldering the cost of correcting the damage done to the people, vehicles or other property involved. If you’re the one who caused the accident, you’ll need that insurance to pay for the damages to the other party, otherwise you’ll be shouldering that financial burden alone. Depending on the severity of damage or injury, you could even end up in bankruptcy. On the flip side, if you had no fault in the accident but the person who did doesn’t have insurance or the money to pay for your damages or injuries, you can find yourself swamped in insurance claims and in a difficult situation getting back on the road. Getting money from them can be a lengthy and sometimes fruitless process full of messy claims, and you don’t want to have to put big repairs on a credit card. You can avoid a lot of headache by making sure that no matter what, you have the coverage that’s right for you. So you should make sure to purchase a coverage plan. But don’t worry; we’re here to help you find cheap car insurance in Miami.

How Auto Insurance Works

Buying Miami car insurance is easier when you have an understanding of how insurance works. When you purchase your insurance, you choose how high of a deductible you will pay for each claim and how much coverage you want, or the maximum amount of money the insurance company will pay out in the event of an incident or collision. These both affect your insurance premium, which is the amount you pay annually or biannually to put your policy into effect. A lower deductible means you pay less out-of-pocket in the event of an accident, so it means you pay a higher premium for your insurance plan. Conversely, the higher the coverage you want, the more your premium will rise. Basically, paying more upfront with a higher premium can make it so it costs you less to put things right if you get into an accident, which can save you a lot of money in the event of a more costly collision. But at the same time, if you don’t get into any accidents and never have to pay out a deductible for repairs, it can save you money to instead carry the cheapest Miami car insurance possible and pay the lowest premiums.

It’s important to note that car insurance does not cover routine automobile maintenance or most repairs your car needs because of normal use. It’s generally only effective to help remedy problems caused by accident, theft or nature, depending on the terms of your policy. An insurance professional can answer your questions about your insurance claims and what your specific policy does or does not cover.

If you’re looking for automobile insurance, Miami has a host of agents who can help you determine what level of coverage is right for you.

Driving Conditions in Miami

Most of the daily traffic is centered on I-95, the main road where commuters, tourists and students all merge together to drive up and down the Florida coast. The Florida Turnpike is another area with high traffic. Fortunately, the 95 Express Lane allows the rushed commuter to get to his destination faster.

Odd or Unique Driving Laws in Miami

Car insurance in South Florida is generally higher than in other parts of the country. Drivers are often fined for getting pulled over without proof of current car insurance. An added tip: uninsured motorist coverage is important to have in Miami, where many people drive without insurance. The city also makes use of red light cameras to catch drivers who go through the lights illegally.

In Miami, you’re not allowed to keep pigs, and you’re not allowed to skateboard at municipal facilities.

Crime Statistics in Miami

According to the FBI, Miami had 4,237 incidents of motor vehicle theft in 2010. Of those thefts, 188 cars were eventually recovered. There were also 8,446 counts of burglary in Miami that same year.

In 2022, according to the FBI, 2,298 vehicles were reported stolen in Miami, and 19,128 property crimes were reported.

Seat Belt Law

In Florida, all drivers, front-seat passengers and passengers under 18 must fasten their safety belts to try and avoid the risk of serious injury, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Drivers and passengers 18 or older can be cited if they or any passenger under 18 are not properly strapped in. A driver will be charged with a seat belt violation if any passenger under 18 is not restrained with a seat belt or child restraint device.

Under Florida law, children 5 and under must be secured in a child restraint device. Children 4 and 5 must secured in a separate carrier, an integrated child seat or a child booster seat.

Helmet Law

Florida requires motorcycle riders under 21 to wear a helmet. If you are over 21, you are not required to wear a helmet. If you do risk going without a helmet, you must carry $10,000 worth of medical payment insurance.

Distracted Driving Law

Distracted driving is one of the leading causes of car accidents in Florida. Driving while distracted can lead to you running red lights, speeding, or veering out of your lane. Texting while driving is illegal in Florida. However, talking on a cellphone while driving is allowed. A first-time offense under the texting-while-driving law can result in a $30 fine

Impaired Driving Law

In Florida, a driver 21 and over can be charged under the DUI law if he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. A first-time offender faces a maximum penalty of one year of probation, a one-year license suspension, a $1,000 fine, 50 hours of community service, a six-month installation of an interlock ignition device and impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days.

If a driver’s BAC is at least 0.15 percent, a first-time offense can result in a maximum of one year of probation, nine months in jail, a one-year license suspension, a $2,000 fine, 50 hours of community service, a six-month installation of an interlock ignition device and impoundment of your vehicle for 10 days.

If a driver is under 21, the BAC threshold is 0.02 percent. DUI penalties increase if the BAC is 0.08 percent or above.