Nevada Auto Insurance Quotes
More than 3,000 accidents occur in Nevada each year in which the at-fault driver was distracted. To protect against those who may not be paying full attention on the road, Nevada drivers need insurance.
The State of Nevada sets minimum automobile liability insurance under Chapter 485 of the state‘s statutes. To meet the state’s requirements, your vehicle should come with the following liability limits:
- $15,000 coverage for bodily injury or the death of another person.
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons or multiple accidents.
- $10,000 for damage to the property of others.
For coverage in Nevada, your motor insurance company must have a license to practice there. You must report liability insurance to the State of Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), but comprehensive, collision, and other coverage does not need reporting. Liability insurance is a requirement for registering your vehicle in Nevada.
If your policy changes, you must report this to the DMV immediately. Updating the Nevada DMV with details of insurance provider, policy number, and policyholder changes prevents you from incurring fines. If you drive without adequate liability insurance, your registration may be suspended, and you may have to pay a fine to reinstate it.
You can validate your insurance using the Nevada Live service. This service connects Nevada DMV with your motor insurance company, allowing you to validate your registration via the Internet. If you want to cancel your registration because your vehicle is no longer in use, contact the Nevada DMV directly.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Nevada
When you first begin exploring auto insurance in Nevada, the Nevada DMV is an excellent resource for basic information. You can use the DMV site to determine liability according to your driving needs. You can also investigate the penalties associated with late payments and driving without insurance.
If you’re experiencing problems with your insurance provider, you can turn to the Consumer Services Section of the Nevada Division of Insurance. This service can assist you with problems relating to insurance agents, title agents, bail agents, and insurance companies.
The Nevada Division of Insurance advises that you try to resolve your problem with the entity in question first. If that does not work, it can help you find a resolution. It can also help with many problems, but exclusions apply to the following:
- Determining liability.
- Forcing a carrier to provide insurance.
- Forcing a carrier to change insurance.
- Settlement negotiations.
- Complaints involving attorneys.
When using the services of the Nevada Division of Insurance, providing them with certain information can help the process. This includes insurance documents, your DMV notice, and receipts from insurance payments.
Tips for Drivers Requiring Nevada Auto Insurance
You can save yourself a trip to the Nevada DMV office by using their Internet, mail, and telephone services. Using its website, you can update new registrations, insurance changes, and you can check your insurance status.
If your insurance lapses by just one day, Nevada’s DMV will move swiftly to get you off the road. As soon as the insurance lapses, your legal right to drive in Nevada disappears. The faster you re-insure yourself and pay your registration fee, the cheaper the process is. If you re-insure and register within the first 30-days, you pay a moderate fee. If you leave it as long as 181 days, you may pay much more, up to five times the amount. These fines may change, so consult the DMV website for up-to-date information.
When you are insured, keep hold of your Nevada Evidence of Insurance card. You will need this when you register or reregister to drive in the State of Nevada.
Moving to Nevada: Important Information
When you move to Nevada, make sure your insurance company has a license to cover drivers there. Use the DMV’s online update service to register as a driver in the state. To do this, you need your policy number, the date your insurance became effective, your insurance termination date, and your insurance company’s name.
If your current insurer cannot cover you in Nevada, check which companies do with the Nevada Division of Insurance. The Nevada Division of Insurance website allows you to search for companies and check the validity of agents in the state.
Understanding Driving Laws in Nevada
When driving in Nevada, it is illegal to use your cellphone. Texting and calling incurs a small fine for a first time offender. Second and third time offenders receive incrementally greater fines. If you persistently use your cellphone while driving, you can receive demerit points, which can raise your insurance premium.
According to NRS Chapter 48E, you must report any crash involving damage of $750 or more to the DMV. If there is no police officer at the scene, all parties involved need to fill out a DMV Form SR-1.
In the State of Nevada, you must respond appropriately to an emergency vehicle. It is your responsibility to slow down and proceed with caution when behind any vehicle with flashing lights. If necessary, stop so the emergency vehicle can proceed to where it is going.
If you drive under the influence of alcohol, you face a 90-day license revocation at the point of arrest. Drivers can be arrested for a DUI if they have blood alcohol content levels of 0.08 percent for those 21 and older, 0.04 percent for drivers under 21, and 0.02 for commercial drivers.
Frequently Asked Questions About Nevada Auto Insurance
1. How does the DMV know if you have insurance?
As only certain companies can insure Nevada drivers, information regarding policyholders passes to the DMV automatically. The DMV holds this information on its systems and the insurance companies alert the DMV when a policy lapses.
2. Why would you receive a certification letter?
Nevada’s DMV sends a certification letter to you if it believes you are not insured. This is usually because you have not responded to a request for information, or because your insurance company has not responded to a request. Responding promptly with the certification information prevents a suspension.
3. What is Nevada’s IVP program?
The Department of Motor Vehicles has established an Insurance Verification Program (IVP) to identify uninsured motorists. If coverage cannot be verified, the DMV suspends the registration and the uninsured motorist could pay up to $250 to have the registration reinstated. Nevada law enforcement officers are required to remove the license plates from any vehicle on which the registration has been suspended. They may also impound the vehicle.
How to Get Great Rates on Nevada Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Nevada Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just Nevada car insurance quotes? Here are some resources for more information on Nevada auto insurance and driving laws:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
Information, forms and services for Nevada drivers and vehicle owners
Nevada Auto Insurance Information
Nevada Division of Insurance
Nevada Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Nevada?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.