Get Free New York Auto Insurance Rates Fast

Compare the best NY car insurance providers today.

Vehicle malfunction and driver neglect are possible causes of everyday car accidents. While no one can predict a tire blowing out, there are ways to avoid getting into an accident. One great way is to abide by New York driving laws and don’t use a cellphone while you’re driving—unless it’s hands-free.

As a driver in the State of New York, your auto insurance must meet the following minimums:

  • $25,000/$50,000 for injury to a person.
  • $50,000/$100,000 for death.
  • $10,000 for property damage.

New York’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) takes a zero-tolerance approach to lapses in insurance. If your policy lapses because you cancel it, you must surrender your license plates. Going for more than 90 days without insurance means you must also surrender your license. Reinstatement fees are very costly.

new york

Average Cost of Car Insurance in New York

The average cost of car insurance in New York varies between drivers. Here is the breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance costs by county for vehicle type below for a minimum state policy of the average driver in NY:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Albany$952$789$951$901$971
Allegany$888$661$912$840$863
Bronx$1,895$1,442$1,971$1,680$1,796
Broome$808$664$814$756$832
Cattaraugus$826$683$842$798$853
Cayuga$878$691$889$840$892
Chautauqua$843$697$855$805$868
Chemung$740$612$745$699$760
Chenango$927$766$942$897$956
Clinton$801$662$807$757$823
Columbia$992$815$1,014$956$1,028
Cortland$890$734$900$849$916
Delaware$808$664$814$756$832
Dutchess$1,122$916$1,135$1,067$1,156
Erie$880$728$898$853$909
Essex$827$683$837$790$851
Franklin$842$696$855$809$867
Fulton$929$743$936$876$954
Genesee$887$662$915$833$851
Greene$1,124$836$1,156$1,040$1,076
Hamilton$929$721$936$876$927
Herkimer$947$721$955$897$927
Jefferson$871$719$882$831$898
Kings$1,794$1,383$1,776$1,599$1,698
Lewis$879$721$891$841$906
Livingston$899$661$924$840$863
Madison$899$736$908$862$924
Monroe$777$599$824$727$745
Montgomery$921$759$927$867$946
Nassau$1,626$1,238$1,748$1,475$1,546
New York$1,388$1,051$1,491$1,259$1,323
Niagara$970$761$978$900$931
Oneida$943$721$952$891$927
Onondaga$874$702$881$829$886
Ontario$835$628$872$778$801
Orange$1,345$1,078$1,354$1,270$1,356
Orleans$895$719$907$858$913
Oswego$866$714$876$824$892
Otsego$954$780$973$909$989
Putnam$1,325$1,050$1,331$1,244$1,347
Queens$1,858$1,397$2,001$1,644$1,763
Rensselaer$973$749$976$927$981
Richmond$1,891$1,447$2,038$1,679$1,791
Rockland$1,559$1,182$1,678$1,410$1,485
Saratoga$880$720$884$830$899
Schenectady$900$750$902$857$919
Schoharie$941$772$955$891$973
Schuyler$811$666$817$760$835
Seneca$842$634$879$785$807
St. Lawrence$833$689$845$798$858
Steuben$757$627$766$721$779
Suffolk$1,357$1,035$1,452$1,221$1,290
Sullivan$1,162$868$1,187$1,090$1,135
Tioga$849$699$862$810$877
Tompkins$904$746$916$867$931
Ulster$1,124$836$1,161$1,040$1,076
Warren$888$720$893$839$899
Washington$888$721$893$839$911
Wayne$841$638$877$794$807
Westchester$1,312$985$1,413$1,189$1,252
Wyoming$878$695$888$837$903
Yates$895$671$907$838$859

Tips for Obtaining New York Auto Insurance

If your auto insurance lapses, you can prevent a suspension by immediately giving your vehicle plates to the DMV. Doing this prevents you from facing a registration and license suspension.

Under New York State law, your insurer must warn you 45 to 60 days in advance if they will not renew your coverage and 15 to 20 days prior to a policy cancellation. By acting promptly, you can arrange for alternative coverage rather than surrendering your vehicle plates.

If you are denied auto insurance coverage because you are a high-risk driver, you are guaranteed coverage with the New York Automobile Insurance Plan (NYAIP).

Moving to New York: Important Information

If you move to New York as a permanent resident, you must register your vehicle there within 30 days of your arrival. People from out of state must follow the same rules as people already living in New York. This means providing the following:

  • Proof of ownership.
  • Proof of sales tax payment.
  • Proof of identity and date of birth.
  • Proof of insurance (from a provider licensed to practice in New York).

Your vehicle must also meet New York emission standards. If the manufacturer’s certificate of origin does not highlight these standards, your car may require an inspection. You can register in the state using the form MV-82.

Understanding Driving Laws in New York

In New York, you can’t use a cellphone while driving. You can face a fine of up to $400 and points on your driving record. Repeat offenders can face a license suspension.

If you drive under the influence (DUI) in New York, you can face a fine between $500 and $1,000. You may also face an 18-month license suspension. Other penalties can include 10 days in jail or 60 days of community service. People who have met the following limits are in breach of New York’s drunk driving laws:

  • A blood alcohol content level (BAC) of 0.02 percent or above if you are under 21.
  • A BAC of 0.08 percent or above if you are over 21.
  • A BAC of 0.04 percent or above if you’re a commercial driver.

Frequently Asked Questions About New York Auto Insurance

What is the difference between canceling and not renewing a policy?

If you contact the insurance company and tell an agent you no longer want insurance, you are canceling your agreement. If you reach the end of your policy and do not renew it, this is considered non-renewal. In both instances, unless you took measures to transfer coverage to another insurer beforehand, you may experience a lapse in auto coverage that will require you to forfeit your vehicle plates to the DMV.

How can you get a discount on your auto insurance?

You can use the following methods to qualify for an auto insurance discount in New York:

  • Take an accident prevention course.
  • Install an anti-theft device.
  • Take part in a Combat Auto Theft (CAT) program.
  • Install daytime running lamps.
  • Be accident-free for a set period of time (typically 3 to 5 years).

Does the State of New York impose fines if your auto insurance liability lapses?

New York imposes fines in increments if there is a lapse in coverage and you do not surrender your license plates. From days 1 to 30, this is $8 per day; from days 31 to 60, it is $10 per day; and from days 61 to 90, it is $12 per day. After 90 days, you face a license suspension.

How to Get Great Rates on New York Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.

New York City