Rhode Island Auto Insurance Quotes
Rhode Island may be the smallest state in the country, but the risk of an accident is no less. As a Rhode Island resident, you must carry liability insurance on vehicles you own. The minimum legal limits for coverage are:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person.
- $50,000 bodily injury for two or more people.
- $25,000 property damage.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage.
You may choose a combined bodily injury and property damage policy of $75,000 instead of the separate limits. Your license may be suspended if you don’t carry the minimum insurance.
The Insurance Division of the Department of Business Regulation, or DBR, approves insurance rates. The staff reviews rate information to ensure rates are fair and nondiscriminatory. To make sure insurance companies follow state laws and regulations in the treatment of customers, the department conducts periodic audits of the claims handling process.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Rhode Island
The DBR’s insurance division is a good place to start learning about and searching for auto insurance in Rhode Island. The consumer division has a guide with information about auto insurance. It also lists phone numbers to call if you’re involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, or if you need help getting insurance.
Getting Auto Insurance in Rhode Island
Shopping around is the best way to get a good policy at a good rate. The insurance division can provide assistance and unbiased information. It can also verify that you are dealing with an insurance company authorized to do business in the state.
Insurance companies compete for your business, so compare prices and coverage amounts for several companies, but don’t shop just for price. Service is an important factor to consider.
Moving to Rhode Island: Important Information
If you’re moving to Rhode Island, you have 30 days to get a new title and registration. If your car is newer than a 2001 model, the vehicle identification number (VIN) has to be checked by a local police department. You’ll also need a title or a copy of the title for cars newer than 2001.
You also have 30 days to get a Rhode Island license. You’ll need to fill out an application and bring your current license, proof of residency, Social Security card, and proper identification to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Understanding Driving Laws in Rhode Island
The Department of Motor Vehicles has information about Rhode Island driving laws. The driver’s manual talks about some specific laws all drivers need to know.
- All occupants of a car must wear seat belts. You face fines per occupant if you and your passengers aren’t wearing seat belts. The state also enforces child restraint laws. Children 7 and younger who meet certain height and weight requirements must be in the back seat in a proper restraint system. Children over 7 must wear a seat belt.
- It is illegal for minors to use a cellphone while driving, even with a hands-free device. The same is true for bus drivers.
- Driving under the influence of alcohol carries fines and penalties based on the level of alcohol in your system. You can have your license suspended and even serve jail time. The state also encourages motorists to report potentially impaired drivers.
Frequently Asked Questions About Rhode Island Auto Insurance
1. What happens if you don’t have auto insurance?
If you’re caught without the minimum required liability insurance, your license and registration are suspended. You may also be fined and have to pay fees to have them renewed.
2. What happens if you have an accident in Rhode Island?
Similar to any other state, if you’re involved in an accident, stay at the scene of the accident until the police arrive. Your insurance company needs full details and reports to process your claim properly and assess fault.
3. Can you buy more than the required amount of insurance?
You can buy more liability insurance and other types of coverage. Your insurance company can tell you if you need other types of insurance coverage, or more coverage than is required by law based on your needs, lifestyle and driving habits.
How to Get Great Rates on Rhode Island Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.