South Dakota Auto Insurance Quotes
If you live in the Mount Rushmore State and own a car, there are certain requirements to meet before you can drive a car. You must have a valid license and register your car in the state. However, another important requirement is proof of financial responsibility. This states that you can pay for damage in case you get into an accident. While there are other ways to prove this, such as a surety bond or a certificate of deposit for $50,000 with the state treasurer, for most people, this means getting auto liability insurance.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in South Dakota
South Dakota has its own division of insurance, which is under the state’s Department of Labor and Regulation. You can get more information about regulations, companies and almost anything about insurance on this site, including auto insurance. You can also find out the latest auto insurance news, as well as information on coverage, rates and state laws at insuranceQuotes.com.
If you are searching for information about vehicle registration and licenses, then the South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles is the place to go. You can visit the nearest MVD office to get information or simply look at it from the website.
What You Need to Know About South Dakota Auto Insurance
South Dakota is a “fault” state when it comes to auto insurance. That means the party at fault for the accident must pay for damage. For example, if you get into a collision and it was your fault, then you (or rather, your insurance) must pay for all the damage.
That said, you might want to get additional coverage aside from the minimum. Unlike many other states, South Dakota doesn’t require you to get personal injury protection (PIP), but this is coverage you should consider getting.
South Dakota Auto Insurance Requirements
If you don’t have any other proof of financial responsibility, then you need auto insurance. In South Dakota, drivers must meet the following minimum coverage for auto insurance:
- $25,000 to over injury or death to one person and $50,000 for multiple people.
- $25,000 for property damage.
You face fines and penalties if caught driving without insurance. The state may suspend your license for a year and require that you file proof of insurance for three years once you get your license back.
Moving to South Dakota: Important Information
If you’re moving to South Dakota from another state, then there are a few things you must do. First, you have to obtain your in-state license within 90 days of arrival. To do this, surrender your out-of -state license, show proof of ID and residence, and bring your Social Security card. After passing a vision test, you will get your new license.
You must register your out-of-state car. To do this, fill out the correct forms and bring the bill of sale (or other type of proof of purchase) and valid ID, and pay the fees to the county treasurer.
Understanding Driving Laws in South Dakota
Driving laws are more or less the same from state to state, with minor variations. Before you begin driving in South Dakota, make sure you learn about the particular state driving laws.
You should take care when you encounter “no-zones.” According to official South Dakota traffic tips, the no-zone is a bus or truck’s blind spot. There are certain rules you must follow when you pass a no-zone. First, do not stay in a truck’s no-zone area. If you can’t see the driver’s face in his or her side-view mirror, then the driver can’t see you either. Don’t tailgate large vehicles and don’t move in to the lane too quickly when you pass them.
Teens can start driving in South Dakota at the age of 14. People between the ages of 14 and 18 can get an instruction permit and then upgrade to a restricted minor’s permit. This allows the person to drive a car alone, with permission from the parent, between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., and all other hours as long as there is a parent or guardian in the front seat.
Frequently Asked Questions About South Dakota Auto Insurance
Buying auto insurance in South Dakota is not that difficult. However, with so much information out there, it’s quite confusing. Before you make any purchase, do check out the following frequently asked questions:
1. If you are a high-risk driver and cannot find an insurance agent, can you drive without insurance?
You must have proof of financial responsibility to drive in South Dakota. If you can’t get a company to insure you, you may be able to get coverage through the South Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan. This agency will connect you with a company that may cover you.
2. Can you get “self-insurance”?
Self-insurance is one form of proof of financial responsibility. This means that you are responsible and will pay out of pocket for any damages in case of an accident. However, you can only opt for this type of insurance if you own a business with 26 or more vehicles.
3. What happens if you lie to your insurance company?
While lying about your driving history, filing false claims, or staging accidents may seem like a victimless crime, think again. This is insurance fraud. This type of fraud not only costs others drivers more money each year, you can also go to jail.
How to Get Great Rates on South Dakota Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.