Get Free Chicago Auto Insurance Rates Fast from the most trusted companies.

Compare the best car insurance providers in Illinois today.

Want to learn more about Chicago and how to get cheap car insurance in Chicago? In Illinois, the minimum vehicle liability insurance coverage is: $25,000 for injury or death of one person in an accident, $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person in an accident, and $20,000 for damage to property of another person.

Chicago is the third largest city in the United State by population. The city is located on Lake Michigan and is known for its windy weather and cold winters. Chicago was founded as a port city in 1833 and quickly grew into a large metropolitan area. The city is now known for its iconic architecture, sports teams and academic institutions.

Driving Conditions in Chicago

The sheer size of Chicago makes it a magnet for heavy traffic congestion and angry commuters. Urban mobility reports reveal that commuters in Chicago spend over 70 hours stuck in traffic every year. There are over five hours per day that are considered peak hours for travel on highways around the metropolitan area.

Unique Laws in Chicago

Among the unusual laws in Illinois: You’re supposed to notify the police when you enter a city in a car, and you’re prohibited from hanging “obstructions” from a rearview mirror, such as fuzzy dice or air fresheners. 

Chicago Crime Statistics

In Chicago, 13,151 burglaries, 57,022 larcenies and 10,222 vehicle thefts were reported in 2015, according to the FBI.

According to the Illinois Department of Transportation, 82,744 traffic crashes were reported in Chicago, causing 118 deaths and 19,675 injuries.

Chicago Vehicle and Driving Safety Requirements

Helmet laws

Illinois does not require motorcycle operators or passengers to wear a helmet. The state also does not mandate helmets for bicycle operators or passengers, except bicycle delivery people.

Distracted driving law

Illinois law prohibits the use of all handheld devices while driving; however, hands-free technology such as Bluetooth and speakerphones is allowed. State law also bans texting while driving. Fines for violations start at $75.

Impaired Driving Law

For drivers 21 and over, the legal limit for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for driving while intoxicated (DUI) is 0.08 percent. For commercial drivers, it’s 0.04 percent. It drops to zero percent for school bus drivers and drivers under 21.

A first-time DUI offense leads to at least a one-year loss of full driving privileges, a possible jail term of up to one year and a maximum fine of $2,500. A second-time offender faces a minimum five-year loss of full driving privileges, a mandatory five-day jail term or 240 hours of community service, a possible jail term of up to one year and a maximum fine of $2,500. For a third-time offense, the penalties are a minimum 10-year loss of full driving privileges, mandatory imprisonment of 18 months, possible imprisonment of up to seven years and a maximum fine of $25,000.

Having auto insurance is not only helpful but also required by law in Chicago. For a free Chicago car insurance quote and to see comparable coverage rates, fill out the form on this page. At Cheap Car Insurance, we work hard to help you find and compare the insurance services you need.

How We Calculate Our Driving Data

Car insurance quotes are for one car and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 comprehensive and collision deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 40 years old, female, married, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no moving violations, accidents, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicles are assumed to be garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Car insurance quotes include commonly available discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.