How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Montana?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Like all states, Montana requires that you are financially responsible for any vehicles that you drive. You must have the minimum insurance coverages on your vehicle:

Driving without insurance can result in a fine and even potential jail time. If you drive without insurance a second time, you can lose your license for even longer and face even harsher penalties. The Montana Code Annotated Title 61 Chapter 6 forces insurance agencies to report new policies to the state. You also have to tell the Montana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) when you change your policy.

Montana car insurance costs

Auto Insurance Rates for Montana

The price of auto insurance depends on a range of factors. These include your driving record, location, and the people driving your vehicle. Your premiums can also change depending on how much you insure for, and what coverage you want. Here are a few factors to keep in mind:

1. Your age: Younger people are statistically more likely to be involved in accidents. Adding a teen to your policy can potentially raise your premium.

2. Your chosen deductible: A higher deductible may seem like a good idea when signing your policy, as it equates to a lower monthly payment. However, it may be a burden when you need to file a claim. Weigh your risk factors before choosing a deductible.

3. Your car’s age and value: Insurance companies factor the age and value of your car in different ways. One company may charge more to insure an older vehicle because it does not have updated safety features. Another may charge more for a newer car of greater value because it represents a high theft risk. It’s best to get quotes based on your specific vehicle and make a decision from there.

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Big Horn$926$753$826$986$1,054
Deer Lodge$951$782$867$993$1,060
Golden Valley$966$784$858$1,033$1,105
Judith Basin$958$775$848$1,026$1,098
Lewis And Clark$841$704$777$873$925
Powder River$966$784$858$1,033$1,105
Silver Bow$957$788$873$1,000$1,066
Sweet Grass$966$784$858$1,033$1,105

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Montana

There are plenty of resources available for anyone who is living in or moving to Montana. Your best source of information is probably the Montana DMV. You can also find answers to many questions at the Montana Department of Justice.

If you are looking for basic information on your insurance rights, you can check with the Montana Commission of Securities and Insurance. The commission also provides information on insurance requirements, reducing rates, and filing complaints.

Getting Affordable Auto Insurance in Montana

You can usually lower your insurance rates if you qualify for discounts. For example, you often get a discount on your car insurance if the drive between your home and work is very short. Montana also has a competitive insurance law. This means that you can get different prices if you shop around. You can use the following tips to get a discount from some insurers.

A clean driving record often qualifies you for a reduced rate as well. For example, if you haven’t been in an accident within a three-year period, you may qualify. Teens can sometimes lower their rates by taking a Drivers Education or Safety program from the DMV.

The Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans (WAAIP) is an option if you cannot find insurance elsewhere. The WAAIP is expensive but offers insurance to everyone who can pay.

Moving to Montana: Important Information

The State of Montana gives you a 60-day grace period to change your vehicle registration and driver’s license. The Montana Insurance Verification System does not check out of state insurance, so you should let your insurance company know your new address.

The State of Montana requires that you take an eye test before giving you a driver’s license. The examiner may also require that you take a driving test, even if you already have an out of state license. You will have to pay a fee for your new license. You can make an appointment online using the DMV Appointment Scheduler.

Understanding Driving Laws in Montana

Montana has numerous driving laws for you to learn. The easiest way to learn local rules is to read the Montana Vehicle Code. The book is 13 chapters long and covers information about vehicles, registration, and insurance.

1. It is illegal to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol according to the Montana Code Annotated section 61-8-401.

2. Any vehicle being driven in the state must be registered and have a license plate.

3. The Montana Seatbelt Act states that the fine for not using a seatbelt is $20 for an adult and $100 and up for a child, payable by the adult or guardian in the vehicle.

4. During the day, state highways and interstates in Montana fall under the “reasonable and prudent rule.” Under this rule, speeding is at the discretion of the officer. This generally comes into play between 70 and 85 mph, but as a rule, if you are passing most of the other cars on the road, you are not driving safely, and you face a violation of $70 to over $500.

Frequently Asked Questions About Montana Auto Insurance

1. Is out of state insurance applicable in Montana?

Your insurance company might not cover you out of state so you may have to change it to a Montana insurance company. You should ask if you have coverage, and if so, notify your insurer of any change in address.

2. How do teens affect your auto insurance?

Most Montana insurance agencies charge premiums for any teen with a driver’s license. This means that even if your teen does not drive, he or she may still affect your premiums. If your teen does drive, you can likely save if your child maintains a B average or higher in school according to the Montana Good Student Discount.

3. Is uninsured automobile coverage necessary?

While the rules surrounding uninsured and underinsured policies can be confusing, it is not mandatory to have it in Montana. Code 33-23-01 states that your insurance agency has to offer you this insurance. If you do not want it, you must sign a waiver with your insurance policy.

How to Get Great Rates on Montana Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance. Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.