Compare Free Ohio Car Insurance Quotes Online

Please provide a valid zip code.

Get cheap OH car insurance rates today.

What is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Ohio?

  • State minimum liability on average in Ohio costs $72 a month or $865 a year. Full coverage auto policies cost around $243 a month or $2,912 a year

InsuranceQuotes cost rates are pulled from our real-time auto insurance database from recent quotes in Ohio – Rates are based on a used car driver who is single, middle aged & has a clean driving record. Read on to learn about the cheapest local rates filtered by insurance providers, new cars, vehicle types and age.

Columbus, Ohio Car Insurance

Which Insurance Companies Have the Cheapest Car Insurance in Ohio?

Here are the average policy rates from the cheapest local and national insurance providers in Ohio from our cost database of used-car drivers who are single, middle aged and have a clean driving record:

Insurance Company:State Minimum:Monthly:Full Coverage:Monthly:
Erie Insurance$386$32$1,784$149
State Farm$1,182$98$3,546$295

What Are State Minimum Liability Coverage Requirements in Ohio?

If you drive a car, you have a responsibility to get insurance. Nearly everyone needs a car; if this is true for you, then make sure you get the right amount of insurance. Ohio’s state guidelines require you to have a certain amount of insurance or proof of financial responsibility. Your car and plates may be impounded and you may lose the ability to renew your license if found driving without insurance.

When looking for auto insurance, learn as much as you can to find the best coverage for your car. When you buy auto insurance in Ohio, you can purchase more than the minimum, which helps cover your assets in the event of a lawsuit. Here are the state minimum liability coverage requirements for Ohio:

  1. Bodily Injury Liability Coverage:
    • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident.
    • $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident.
  2. Property Damage Liability Coverage:
    • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

These are the minimum amounts required by law in Ohio to legally drive a vehicle. However, it’s important to note that these minimums may not provide adequate coverage in the event of a serious accident. Many drivers opt for higher coverage limits to better protect themselves financially. Additionally, other types of coverage, such as comprehensive and collision, are not required by law but may be wise to consider for added protection. For the most accurate and up-to-date information, it’s recommended to check with the Ohio Department of Insurance or a licensed insurance agent.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Ohio by County

The average cost of car insurance in Ohio changes based on each driver. We provide a breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance policy costs by county for vehicle types below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:

Moving to Ohio: Important Information

When moving to Ohio from another state, you have to apply for an Ohio driver’s license and a new registration for your car if you’re bringing it from out of state. In addition, you should also update your insurance as soon as possible.

Some national companies can do this, as they have a license for different states, but you should also take this time to shop around and find better rates from local companies. Contact your old insurance company to cancel your old policy and switch over to the new policy.

You should also take the time to learn about Ohio car insurance laws to figure out the differences and ensure you have the necessary coverage when you move.

Understanding Driving Laws in Ohio

While most traffic laws aren’t that much different from state to state, there are a few things about driving in Ohio you should know. The government recently put a statewide ban on texting while driving. In addition, drivers younger than 18 can’t talk on cellphones and can only use hands-free navigation devices while operating a car.

Drunken driving is dangerous and against the law anywhere in the U.S. Ohio’s blood alcohol limits for drivers is 0.08 percent for adults 21 and older and 0.02 percent for those 20 and younger.

To learn more about driving laws in Ohio, visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles site, or pick up a copy of the state’s driving law book from your local BMV.

Frequently Asked Questions About Ohio Auto Insurance

Buying insurance can be intimidating, but it’s not that difficult if you know what questions to ask. Before you make any decision, check out some frequently asked questions about auto insurance in Ohio.

1. What is “no-fault” insurance?

Ohio is one of the few states that allow “no-fault insurance.” When you opt for this coverage, your insurance company will pay you money for any damage, even if the accident was your fault.

2. How much coverage do you need?

While you must follow Ohio’s laws when it comes to minimum requirements, you should look at choosing more insurance depending on your situation. Your insurance should cover your assets if someone decides to sue you. If you’re hurt, then you may not be able to work, so you should think about how insurance can help you.

3. Do you need insurance on a leased car?

Yes, the bank or car leasing company will require you to purchase insurance for any leased vehicle. You might be required to purchase “gap” insurance as well. In case you crash and wreck the car, gap insurance covers the value of the car. Of course, this is included in lease payments and considers depreciation.

4. How much is full coverage insurance a month in Ohio?

Full coverage car insurance in Ohio starts around $92 a month but can differ depending on car insurance. See our car insurance quotes generator above to see the best and cheapest car insurance option for you.

Please provide a valid zip code.