How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Pennsylvania?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

If you live in Pennsylvania and want to drive, you’ll need to pass your driving exam and buy and keep car insurance. The law says that you have to maintain “financial responsibility” for your vehicles. According to Pennsylvania state law, you must have enough insurance in your policy to cover the following:

If your coverage lapses for more than 31 days, the state can revoke your car’s registration and driving privileges for at least three months. If you drive your car without insurance, the state can suspend your license for three months. You may also face fines and the potential loss of your vehicle while you regain coverage.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Pennsylvania?

The average costs of state minimum auto insurance coverage in Pennsylvania differs, here is the breakdown of what you can expect based off of car type and county:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Adams$610$575$713$649$728
Allegheny$723$682$842$766$861
Armstrong$833$788$942$924$1,024
Beaver$707$667$828$752$845
Bedford$723$683$898$835$895
Berks$736$694$863$783$881
Blair$711$671$849$775$859
Bradford$751$712$882$850$927
Bucks$814$771$952$865$973
Butler$710$671$838$762$852
Cambria$652$616$764$696$781
Cameron$759$720$875$868$932
Carbon$738$696$876$795$891
Centre$674$627$716$755$814
Chester$685$647$793$718$811
Clarion$797$757$935$926$986
Clearfield$746$708$899$863$922
Clinton$638$602$716$698$777
Columbia$693$655$798$767$840
Crawford$759$720$935$868$932
Cumberland$610$575$713$649$728
Dauphin$655$620$755$686$774
Delaware$1,055$939$1,070$1,079$1,196
Elk$759$720$899$868$932
Erie$765$721$876$792$901
Fayette$730$692$880$801$888
Forest$759$720$935$868$932
Franklin$648$610$762$693$775
Fulton$800$760$911$947$1,002
Greene$788$748$959$883$962
Huntingdon$674$637$814$755$821
Indiana$734$697$904$840$903
Jefferson$746$708$899$863$922
Juniata$674$637$775$755$821
Lackawanna$762$719$874$784$903
Lancaster$685$647$793$718$811
Lawrence$735$697$876$798$886
Lebanon$685$647$793$718$811
Lehigh$745$701$868$784$886
Luzerne$760$716$874$785$897
Lycoming$665$628$782$712$797
Mckean$759$720$875$868$932
Mercer$716$679$861$794$866
Mifflin$674$637$775$755$821
Monroe$883$833$1,047$955$1,062
Montgomery$794$751$925$836$943
Montour$693$655$798$767$840
Northampton$745$701$868$784$886
Northumberland$690$650$798$748$830
Perry$674$637$814$755$821
Philadelphia$1,275$1,121$1,277$1,310$1,426
Pike$883$833$1,047$955$1,062
Potter$759$720$875$868$932
Schuylkill$738$696$876$795$891
Snyder$635$599$751$686$765
Somerset$684$648$824$762$832
Sullivan$674$637$798$755$821
Susquehanna$751$712$932$867$927
Tioga$751$712$882$867$927
Union$635$599$751$686$765
Venango$797$757$935$926$986
Warren$759$720$875$868$932
Washington$745$704$863$785$884
Wayne$883$828$936$955$1,062
Westmoreland$730$690$861$782$875
Wyoming$836$791$1,017$936$1,023
York$669$633$780$713$796

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Pennsylvania

If you are moving to Pennsylvania or are getting car insurance for the first time, you can find many places to get info and help. For questions related to driver’s licenses and vehicle registration, PennDOT is best site to visit.

If you want to know more about insurance in the state, visit the Pennsylvania Insurance Department website. Aside from insurance information, you can also find a certified insurance company and file complaints directly with the department.

Getting Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

Make sure you shop around to find the best insurance rates. If you are in a high risk driver category, have a bad driving record, or simply can’t get insured, the state can help you out. You can check out Pennsylvanias Assigned Risk Plan website to find out more.

Your insurance company will give you enough coverage to meet standards. You can also opt for other types of coverage, but it will cost more. If you want to lower your premiums, there are some things you can do.

1. Drive safely at all times. Pennsylvania uses a points system that adds points to your record depending on the violation. However, the state deducts three points for every year you don’t have a negative mark on your record. If you have a clean record, you may be able negotiate lower rates with your company.

2. Take an AARP Driver Safety Course. Pennsylvania is one of the few states that participate in the AARP Driver Safety Course program. If you are over 55 and you can pass this test, then you are entitled to a policy discount.

Moving to Pennsylvania: Important Information

If you’re moving to Pennsylvania from another state, you’ll need to transfer your license within 60 days of establishing residency. Bring your valid out-of-state license to the DMV office along with proof of identification and residency. Complete the form, pay the fee and pass the vision test to get your new Pennsylvania license.

You’ll also need to register your car and get the proper insurance within 20 days of moving to Pennsylvania. Go to the nearest office, bring the car’s title and vehicle identification number (VIN) certificate, fill out the forms, and pay a registration fee to the state. PennDOT will inform you if your vehicle is subject to an emissions inspection.

Understanding Driving Laws in Pennsylvania

Traffic laws are more or less standard throughout the U.S. However, as a driver in Pennsylvania, you must know about the laws that are unique to the state.

If you own a car, you must have it checked for safety and emissions every 12 months. You’ll receive a sticker that shows the emissions test is valid for a year. If a police officer catches you driving without the sticker on your car, you may receive a ticket.

Another Pennsylvania specific law called the “headlight / windshield wiper law” states that when you use your wipers in bad weather conditions, you also need to turn on your headlights and taillights. If you don’t, you may receive a fine.

Frequently Asked Questions About Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

When you shop for auto insurance, you may have questions about policies and coverage. Check out the following frequently asked questions to know more about auto insurance in the state.

1. If I go to jail for drunken driving, can the insurance company cancel my policy?

According to state law, if you incur a DUI charge, your license will be suspended. This is one of the reasons an insurance company may cancel your policy.

2. Will excluding someone from my policy help me get a lower rate?

If you have a teenager or spouse in your home and can prove that he or she has insurance elsewhere, you can have that person excluded. This can help lower your premium, especially if that person is an underage driver or one with a poor driving record.

3. Do I need to contact the state when I switch to a new insurance company?

Yes, you must inform PennDOT that you have a new insurance company and policy in effect. However, you only need to do so if the state sends you a request.

How to Get Great Rates on Pennsylvania Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

Pennsylvania Auto Insurance Resources

We offer more than just awesome Pennsylvania auto insurance quotes. Here are some resources for more information:

Pennsylvania Department of Insurance

An insurance resource for Pennsylvania residents

http://www.insurance.pa.gov/Consumers/Pages/default.aspx

Pennsylvania Driver and Vehicle Services

A public service portal offering tools and information for Pennsylvania drivers

http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/

Insurance Information Institute

A general consumer resource for insurance-related issues

http://www.iii.org/

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.