Maryland Auto Insurance Quotes
Maryland law says that all drivers must have at least minimum levels of insurance on their vehicles. Maryland drivers should have three types of insurance: Liability, personal injury protection, and uninsured motorist insurance. Maryland’s minimum requirements are higher than most other states. You need at least the following coverage:
- $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident for bodily injury liability
- $15,000 per accident for property damage liability
- $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident for uninsured motorists
- $15,000 per accident property damage for uninsured motorists
- $2,500 per person for personal injury protection
You will have to sign an FR-19 certificate once you get insurance. This document is valid for 30 days and tells the DMV that you are insured. The state also requires insurance agencies to submit your insurance details.
Auto Insurance Rates for Maryland
Maryland is the 10th most expensive state for auto insurance, so you want to get the best rates possible. The Insurance Reform Act of 1995 allows Maryland insurers to offer competitive rates, meaning that you can compare and save. Discounts usually vary by insurer, but some of the offers usually available in Maryland include:
- Senior discounts
- Discounts for low risk areas
- Good driver discounts
- Annual mileage discount (vehicles driven fewer than a set number of miles qualify)
Maryland insurance companies compare these factors and more to set your rates. Usually, your driving record is one of the most important, no matter where you are. This is why it’s always important to compare free car insurance quotes from multiple car insurance companies.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Maryland
If Maryland’s many rules and regulations are confusing, you can look to resources to help. You might need access to forms, deadlines, or information; but almost everything is easy to find. The Motor Vehicle Administration of Maryland is often the best place to look for insurance requirements. On the same note, the DMV website is a good source of information.
For complaints, contact the Insurance Administration of Maryland. The Administration also has a great deal of information on its website about specific companies so you can do a quick check on a company’s quality before choosing a policy.
If you cannot get insurance elsewhere, then you can ask the Maryland Automobile Insurance Fund for help. It offers insurance to people who have trouble getting it elsewhere.
Getting a Maryland Auto Insurance Certificate
Maryland holds a very strict policy on verifying driver insurance. By law, an ID card or policy is not proof of insurance. The FR-19 form is the only legal way to confirm insurance in the state. You can submit your Maryland Insurance Certificate to the Maryland DMV in person, by mail, or via fax. However, photocopies are not accepted. Each form is good for 30 days.
The MVA can request to see your proof of insurance if your previous insurer informs them that your policy has been canceled. It can also ask to see your proof of insurance if you have three or more driving points on your record.
Moving to Maryland: Important Information
If you are moving to Maryland, there are many things to keep in mind. First, you have 30 days after moving to register your vehicle in Maryland and get local insurance. You can transfer your vehicle title to Maryland at an MVA office. You will need proof of ownership, a certificate of insurance, and a Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate to transfer your title. You might be able to get a 30-day vehicle registration if you are applying for a title at the same time. You can use a VR-129 form to apply for temporary registration.
If your insurance is from out of state, you must ask your insurer for a list of information. You will also need an FR-19 form as proof of coverage. Otherwise, you will not be able to register your vehicle.
You have 60 days after moving to get your Maryland driver’s license. You will have to pass an eye test, or bring along a Vision Certification Form from your doctor. You will also have to pay a fee before getting your license.
Understanding Driving Laws in Maryland
Maryland’s driving laws cover safety issues and are usually easy to follow. Most are similar to rules from other states, but it is still important to brush up on the details. Drivers should read a copy of the Maryland Driver’s Manual before getting their license to learn current laws.
The maximum speed limit in Maryland is 65 mph, except on interstates. Speeding fines are hefty compared to other states, and your insurance premium will increase once you accumulate a few points on your driving record.
It is illegal to use a cell phone while driving in Maryland for any reason. If you do have to use a cell phone to place a call or send a text message, pull over and call from the side of the road.
Frequently Asked Questions About Maryland Auto Insurance
Maryland auto insurance can be complicated. As a result, you probably have many questions, some of which can only be answered by your insurer. Here are a couple of common questions and answers for review.
Does insurance have to be issued by a Maryland insurance company?
Your insurance policy can be from out of state. However, you must have a notarized letter with letterhead from the agency as well as an FR-19 form to verify the coverage. Usually, it is easier to just switch to a local insurer, as you are required to make the switch when your current policy runs out anyway.
How can you lower insurance premiums?
Many insurance agencies offer discounts. These can include savings for good driving or even for being over the age of 55 or retired. Most drivers can also get a discount for having a newer vehicle, which comes with safety features not seen on older vehicles.
Where do you get a vehicle inspection?
There are more than 1,600 registered Maryland Safety Inspection stations in the state. You can find one by checking your local phone book or by calling a DMV office in your area.
How to Get Great Rates on Maryland Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Maryland Auto Insurance Resources
Here are some helpful resources if you’re looking for more information than just Maryland auto insurance quotes.
Maryland Insurance Administration
Information on insurance-related laws and regulations for Maryland consumers
Maryland Motor Vehicles Administration
License and registration renewal information as well as other tools and resources
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.