New Hampshire Auto Insurance Quotes
Nothing kills more people ages 5 to 34 than motor vehicle crashes. According to studies by the Centers for Disease Control, the state of New Hampshire has incurred $143 million in fatal crash-related costs in a single year. Due to the risks of being on the road, all drivers should consider coverage for unforeseen events to avoid financial liability.
If you are driving in New Hampshire, you’re not automatically required to carry auto insurance. However, under New Hampshire Statute RSA 264, you are required to provide proof of financial liability to drive. This proof can constitute an insurance certificate that meets the state’s liability terms, or evidence of assets to cover financial burdens if you injure another person or damage his or her property.
If you purchase auto insurance to drive in New Hampshire, the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles requires these minimum liability coverage limits:
- $25,000 for injuring another person.
- $50,000 for injuring two or more people.
- $25,000 for injuring another person’s property.
New Hampshire law states that you need to purchase medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage as part of your auto insurance. This is to cover your medical costs in the event of an accident. This protects you if another driver injures you and his or her insurance doesn’t cover your costs.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in New Hampshire
The New Hampshire Insurance Department regulates the insurance industry in the state. If you want to find an insurer or agent who can legally provide auto insurance in the state, the department’s directory can help you. Any insurer or agent not listed with the department cannot provide you with coverage for the state.
If you are a victim of auto insurance fraud, the New Hampshire Insurance Department can assist you. You should report any insurance fraud using the Fraud Referral Form. If you are aware of fraud but you are not a victim, you can also use this form.
Tips for Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
If you are seeking driver registration in the state of New Hampshire, provide evidence of your financial liability. This means you should give your local city or town clerk’s office your original insurance certificate. Alternatively, you can prove you are able to cover the 25/50/25 liability using your finances.
Liability coverage doesn’t provide you and your vehicle with protection; it only protects others. To protect your own car, consider buying collision coverage. This protects you and your car by entitling you to financial protection for legal costs, bodily damage and property damage.
Check to see if you qualify for any of these discounts with your auto insurance provider:
- Insuring your car and home with the same company.
- Having a good driving record.
- Making good grades in school.
- Insuring multiple cars.
Not all companies offer the same discounts on car insurance, so request quotes from at least six auto insurers in New Hampshire to get the best offer.
Moving to New Hampshire: Important Information
If you are new to New Hampshire and want to register your vehicle, you must follow a set procedure with your local town or city clerk‘s office. You should provide proof of residency and title of car ownership. If your license plates will soon expire, you can request a 60-day temporary plate. The registration fees for each vehicle vary between each town and city, so check with your local office for detailed information.
The state of New Hampshire permits local clerk’s offices to inspect your vehicle for emissions. If your car is more than 40 years old, these inspections take place once every two years.
Understanding Driving Laws in New Hampshire
The blood-alcohol content limit in New Hampshire is 0.08 percent, and the first offense comes with a six-month license suspension. Penalties may also include installing an ignition interlock, which prevents the offender from starting his or her vehicle without engaging a vehicle-mounted Breathalyzer test.
There is no ban in place for cellphone usage, but there is a ban on texting while driving.
Children 6 years and younger who are less than 55 inches tall must use a child restraint seat. Adult seat belts are required for those ages 7 through 17 who are at least 55 inches tall.
Details on these New Hampshire laws and many others are found of the state’s page of the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety website.
Frequently Asked Questions About New Hampshire Auto Insurance
1. Who decides which driver is at fault when you are involved in an accident in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, the comparative negligence law means you and the other driver may share negligence. Under this law, you can only process a claim with the other person’s insurance company if your negligence is less than 50 percent.
2. When can an insurance company consider a car a total loss in New Hampshire?
Under New Hampshire Statute 261:22 VI (b), an insurance company can only consider your car a total loss when 75 percent or more of its fair market value is damaged. This applies during its model year and for four years afterward.
3. Can an insurance company deduct a payout for preexisting problems like rust?
In New Hampshire, an auto insurance company can deduct for preexisting disrepair. An insurer doesn’t have to make a car better than it was prior to the loss or damage.
How to Get Great Rates on New Hampshire Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.