New Jersey Auto Insurance Quotes
Traffic accidents are just that: accidents. However, there are often common causes of accidents, including distracted drivers and drunk driving. Auto insurance can help you recover financially should you get into a crash.
As a driver in New Jersey, you are legally required to take out an auto insurance policy. All vehicles registered in the state of New Jersey must have the following types of insurance:
- Liability insurance to cover the damage you cause. The minimum limits are 15,000
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to cover medical costs you may incur as a result of injury.
- Uninsured motorist coverage to protect you against uninsured motorists.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) regulates these requirements. The MVC can offer advice when it comes to reducing your insurance costs. This advice includes the following:
- Consider choosing higher deductibles.
- Consider choosing a limited right-to-sue clause.
- If you’re a student, maintain good grades.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in New Jersey
To find an auto insurer that is licensed to cover you in New Jersey, you can use the Department of Banking & Insurance (DBI) auto insurance finder. This auto insurance finder allows you to search for a provider or agent according to your vehicle type. You can also narrow your search to the insurance you require.
The DBI also allows you to use an interactive auto insurance planning tool. This tool helps you determine which type of insurance is right for you and how much coverage you need.
Useful Tips for People Requiring New Jersey Auto Insurance
If you want to reduce the cost of your auto insurance, you can take a defensive driving course. Insurance companies often offer a discount to drivers who complete the course as they are deemed less of a risk.
If you just want to meet the basic insurance requirements in New Jersey and save money, take out a basic policy. It is worth keeping in mind this policy limits your coverage significantly. If you want enhanced protection, opt for the standard policy.
If you’re enrolled in certain Medicaid programs, you may qualify for a low-cost auto insurance program. This type of insurance only covers medical costs, which New Jersey requires, but can save Medicaid users a significant amount of money.
Moving to New Jersey: Important Information
If you move to New Jersey from another state, transfer your title and registration. To do this, visit your local MVC agency and complete the following steps:
- Fill out the sales tax stamp.
- Complete an application for ownership.
- Pay a title fee.
If you are moving to New Jersey from another country, you’ll need to follow special regulations to drive in the state. In order to drive your foreign vehicle in New Jersey, you must put your request in writing to the MVC. You must also register for a New Jersey title following the normal rules.
Understanding Driving Laws in New Jersey
If you are under the age of 21 or you are new to driving, you must complete a period of supervised driving. In order to drive alone, you must complete one of the following programs:
- The Early Bird Road (for drivers 16 and older).
- The Young Adult Road (for drivers 17 and older).
- The Adult Road (for drivers 21 and older).
New Jersey observes strict speed laws. To prevent acquiring points on your license and raising your insurance premium, you must follow them. These laws are:
- 25 mph in school zones and business and residential areas.
- 35 mph in low-density areas.
- 55 to 65 mph on certain highways, interstates and turnpikes.
In New Jersey, you can’t use handheld electronic devices while you’re in control of a car. Those caught talking or texting with a cellphone while driving (unless using a hands-free device) face a fine of $100 as a first-time offender.
Frequently Asked Questions About New Jersey Auto Insurance
1. How is your right to sue affected by your New Jersey auto insurance policy?
Both the unlimited right to sue and limited right to sue policies cover emotional pain and suffering. They don’t cover economic losses. You can sue for medical expenses under both plans.
2. What deductible should you choose?
The deductible you choose when taking out your auto insurance policy should depend on how much you can afford to pay now and in the long run. If you want a lower monthly premium, choose a higher deductible. However, ensure you are able to afford to pay the deductible in the event of an accident.
3. What is personal injury protection?
When driving in New Jersey, or any state, you cannot rely on other drivers to have adequate insurance. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) covers expenses from accidents if the other driver is not insured. Taking out this insurance ensures you do not face hefty medical bills without coverage.
How to Get Great Rates on New Jersey Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
New Jersey Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just New Jersey car insurance quotes? To learn more beyond auto insurance quotes in New Jersey, check out the resources at some of these sites.
State of New Jersey Automobile Insurance
Auto insurance information for New Jersey drivers
State of New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
Everything You Wanted to Know About Auto Insurance.
But were afraid to ask!
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.