Many Americans own at least one car to get around. If you own a car in Oklahoma or plan to move there, you should learn all about Oklahoma auto insurance requirements to ensure you are in compliance with all relevant state laws. Oklahoma requires that all drivers meet certain insurance minimums when they drive, which are:
- $25,000 to cover the injury or death of one person.
- $50,000 to cover the injury or death of two people.
- $25,000 to cover damage to property.
You must also carry proof of insurance, such as the actual document or an insurance card. If you are caught without any proof of insurance, the state can suspend your license and vehicle registration.
Sample of Annual Oklahoma Auto Insurance Rates
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Oklahoma
There are many ways to find information on auto insurance and driving in Oklahoma. Residents can go to their local Motor Vehicle Division, or MVD, for car and registration concerns, while the Department of Public Safety, or DPS, takes care of licensing.
For insurance, drivers can go to the Oklahoma Insurance Department website, which lists information about the types of insurance available and required in the state, including auto insurance. If you have been designated a high-risk driver, have a hard time getting car insurance, or if your insurance company suddenly cancels your plan, call the Oklahoma Automobile Insurance Plan, which can help you find an agent willing to help.
When you start searching for an insurance company, make sure it is authorized by the state to issue policies. You can go to the DPS website to verify an insurance agent's credentials.
Tips to Lower Your Oklahoma Auto Insurance
Auto insurance is something you need to have. You want to get maximum coverage for a reasonable and affordable amount. There are ways to lower your premiums in Oklahoma. According to the Oklahoma Insurance Department, here are a few ways you can save money.
1. Enroll teens in driver's education courses. This often results in savings when you add a teen to your policy.
2. Complete Oklahoma's defensive driver course. The Oklahoma Safety Council offers a special course on defensive driving, and you can get discounts on your insurance premium by completing the program. Call the DPS for information on other driver-improvement schools.
It's also good to know why an insurer gives you a high rate. The Oklahoma Insurance Code states that companies cannot set rates based on discriminatory factors such as race. If you think your rates are high because of discrimination of some sort, call the company and ask for an explanation.
Moving to Oklahoma: Important Information
If you're moving to Oklahoma from another state, you must get an Oklahoma driver's license as soon as possible. Take two forms of ID, your out-of-state license and Social Security number to the nearest DPS driver's license office to get your new Oklahoma license. Depending on the situation, it may waive the written and driving test, but you must still take the vision test.
You will also have to obtain a new vehicle registration and plates within 30 days of becoming a resident of the state. Bring three valid forms of identification, proof of insurance and proof of car ownership to a vehicle tag office. You must go to an official tag agency, which is a private company the Oklahoma Tax Commission has authorized to give out certain certificates. The tag company will give you a certification that verifies your vehicle identification number (VIN) and odometer reading.
Understanding Driving Laws in Oklahoma
While many driving laws are the same in every state, there are some unique laws drivers in Oklahoma should know. The mandatory point system helps the DPS keep track of your driving record. Starting with zero points, you'll accumulate them for violations. If you accrue 10 points in five years, the state will suspend your license.
While driving, make sure you check signs on the road for speed limits. However, if there are no signs posted, certain types of streets and highways have maximum speed limits.
- Four-lane and super two-lane highways have a maximum speed limit of 70 mph.
- Turnpikes have a maximum 75 mph.
- Two-lane highways are 65 mph.
- School zones have a maximum speed of 25 mph.
Frequently Asked Questions About Oklahoma Auto Insurance
Buying auto insurance in Oklahoma doesn't have to be complicated. If you have questions about Oklahoma auto insurance, check out these frequently asked questions and talk to an agent.
1. Should you get more insurance than the minimum?
That depends on your situation. The minimum insurance requirement is good enough to cover most accidents. However, if you want to protect your assets and perhaps members of your family and other riders in the car, then you should consider other supplemental auto insurance riders.
2. What is uninsured motorist insurance?
If you have an accident with a motorist who does not have insurance, uninsured motorist insurance can help. This type of coverage can pay for personal injuries to you, your family and other people riding in your car.
3. How much money will you get if you wreck your car?
The insurance company will give you the current actual cash value (ACV) of the car at the time of the accident. The company determines this value using several methods. First, it can look at the cost of similar cars in your area. Next, it can get the value by getting quotes from two or more dealers in the local market. Third, the insurance company can check the value in recognized guidebooks, like the National Automobile Dealers Association Official Used Car Guide.
How to Get Great Rates on Oklahoma Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Oklahoma Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just Oklahoma auto insurance quotes? Here are some resources for more information on Florida auto insurance and driving laws:
Oklahoma Insurance Department
State of Oklahoma insurance regulations and information
Oklahoma Department of Motor Vehicles
Information, tools and tips for Oklahoma drivers and vehicle owners
Oklahoma Motor Vehicle Laws
A comprehensive list of Oklahoma’s motor vehicle laws
Oklahoma Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Oklahoma?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.