South Carolina Auto Insurance Quotes
South Carolina is unlike many other states when it comes to auto insurance. In most states, your vehicle registration is suspended if you don’t have insurance, but in South Carolina, if you don’t have insurance, the state can suspend your driver’s license. The state does have minimum insurance requirements that are similar to those in other states, including:
- $25,000 per person to cover injuries
- $50,000 maximum for injuries in a single accident
- $25,000 for all property damage in a single accident
You can also choose to purchase collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist coverage, but these aren’t required.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in South Carolina
If you’re looking for help finding auto insurance resources, the best place to start is with the South Carolina Department of Insurance. The department provides information on how to find insurance companies, how to keep your rates down and how to select coverage.
The state’s Department of Motor Vehicles also has resources to help you find auto insurance. The DMV will let you know what can happen if you drive without insurance and what you need to do after an accident. You can also find information about Form FR-50, which is the form needed to obtain a copy of the accident report if you are involved in an accident.
Tips on the Auto Insurance Tort System Used in South Carolina
South Carolina, along with 37 other states, uses the tort system for auto insurance. This is important for you to understand if you come from one of the 12 states that use a no-fault system. In the tort system, the driver who is at fault in an accident is responsible for paying for the victim’s expenses.
Under the tort system, if you cause an accident, you are responsible for paying:
- The medical bills for the victim or victims
- The costs to repair or replace any damaged property (this can include the victim’s car as well as any other property you might damage, such as a building or fence)
- Compensation for pain and suffering the victim or victims might experience
- Any lost wages of a victim
The lost wages, medical bills and property damage that you might be responsible for can add up to much more than the minimum coverage required by the state. If it does, the victims can sue you for more money to cover their expenses. This is why it’s always a good idea to have more insurance than the minimum.
Moving to South Carolina: Important Information
If you are moving to the state permanently, you can keep using your old license for 90 days but then you need to get a South Carolina license. In addition, you will need to transfer your vehicle registration to South Carolina within 45 days.
When you apply for a driver’s license, the form you sign includes a certification that you have liability insurance.
When you register a vehicle or renew your registration, you have to provide the name of your insurance company, which the state will verify. So, be sure to update your address with your insurance company before changing your registration.
Members of the military assigned to the state temporarily, and students in the state temporarily, don’t have to obtain a state driver’s license.
Understanding Driving Laws in South Carolina
There are some odd traffic laws to be aware of in certain areas of the state. It is illegal in Hilton Head to store trash in your car because the city has a bad rat problem. Despite that interesting law, South Carolina does have the same basic driving laws that you may be familiar with from other states. This includes driving the speed limit, following posted signs and moving over for emergency vehicles.
South Carolina is one of the states that allow police officers to pull over vehicles and issue citations for seat belt violations. This is called primary enforcement because not wearing your seat belt can be the primary reason you are pulled over. In other states, the officer has to pull you over for another offense and then can also cite you for not wearing your seat belt.
Frequently Asked Questions About South Carolina Auto Insurance
What kind of insurance is available to cover damage from flooding?
Flooding is common in South Carolina. The minimum auto insurance required by the state will not cover your vehicle if it is damaged in a flood. You will need comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive coverage is designed to pay for damage to your vehicle from things other than accidents, such as fires, vandalism, theft and floods.
What are the options for deductibles?
You generally get to choose the deductible that works best for you. Many people find they can lower their insurance rates by increasing their deductible. Be sure your deductible is affordable just in case you’re in an accident and need to pay it.
Are there discounts for auto insurance?
While the state doesn’t have any required discounts like some others do, most insurers offer discounts for good drivers. Many also offer good student discounts and loyalty discounts, so check with several insurers when you’re looking for auto insurance.
How to Get Great Rates on South Carolina Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
South Carolina Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just South Carolina auto insurance quotes? We offer insurance information in addition to our excellent auto insurance quotes in South Carolina. If you’d like to learn more about South Carolina insurance, here are some helpful websites.
South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
Offering online registration renewal and other information for South Carolina drivers
Insurance Information Institute
A general consumer resource for all types of insurance
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.