Virginia Auto Insurance Quotes
You should not underestimate the importance of car insurance. Besides keeping you on the right side of the law, maintaining the proper coverage on your vehicle protects you from potential financial difficulty, even bankruptcy.
Virginia state law requires you to insure any registered vehicle you own, even if it isn’t working or being used. The law sets minimum liability coverage amounts, which are:
- $25,000 for injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for injury or death of two or more people
- $20,000 for property damage
However, you should consider raising your liability limits past the minimum. If you get into a crash and the driver of the other car sues you for damages that exceed your limits, you will have to pay the remainder of the bill out of pocket.
If insurance is not an option for you, Virginia law allows you to pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee. This allows you to register and operate your vehicle for a year. However, it isn’t insurance, and you can be held liable if you cause an accident.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Virginia
The Bureau of Insurance has a wealth of information about auto insurance. You can look up insurance companies and agents, find tips on buying auto insurance, and read up on the state’s insurance information materials.
Buying Auto Insurance in Virginia
State law requires a minimum amount of liability coverage for all registered vehicles. It’s a good idea to have insurance anyway because you may be liable for damages if you cause an accident. There are also coverage options that protect you and your property if you’re involved in an accident, regardless of fault. Collision coverage pays for repair or replacement of your vehicle after a crash. Uninsured motorists coverage offers protection if you’re in an accident with someone who doesn’t have insurance.
Moving to Virginia: Important Information
You have 30 days to title and register your vehicle in Virginia if you move there. Before you can do that, you have to get a vehicle inspection. You may also have to get an emissions test if you live in certain cities or counties. These are:
- The counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William and Stafford
- The cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas and Manassas Park
If you have a current emissions certificate from another state, you may not need a test. You will need insurance that meets the minimum requirements in order to register your vehicle.
After you move to Virginia, you have 60 days to get a Virginia driver’s license. If you hold a valid license from another state or from Canada, France or Germany, you don’t have to take a written or road test. You do have to take a vision test and show proof of identity and residency to get a Virginia license. All this information and more is available on the state’s DMV website.
Understanding Driving Laws in Virginia
Virginia uses a point system to evaluate and rate drivers. You incur demerit points if found guilty of a traffic violation. Points for certain violations remain on your record permanently. You can also earn safe driving points for every year that you have a valid Virginia license and don’t get any demerit points. You can use these points to offset demerits. Since this affects you as a risk candidate, having fewer points equates to lower insurance premiums.
Frequently Asked Questions About Virginia Auto Insurance
What happens if you just can’t afford to buy insurance?
You can pay an uninsured vehicle fee, which allows you to operate the vehicle at your own risk for one year. You have to pay this fee every year that you don’t have insurance.
Can your insurance company add points to your driving record?
Insurance companies can add points to your insurance record, but this is separate from your DMV driving record. Insurance companies use your driving record to assess points in their own databases. These points affect your rates.
How much coverage do you have to buy?
Virginia state law sets limits on the liability coverage you are required to have. You can purchase additional or other types of coverage, but you have to have at least the minimum.
How to Get Great Rates on Virginia Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Virginia Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just Virginia auto insurance quotes? Below are some helpful resources.
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
Virginia Bureau of Insurance
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.