How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Louisiana?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

f you own a car in the Louisiana, you should be aware of the rules and requirements related to auto insurance in the state. You must have a minimum of liability insurance in Louisiana at the following minimum limits:

If you have a car loan, you are required to carry full coverage insurance. This protects the interest of the bank that you have the loan through.

Average Cost for Car Insurance in Louisiana by County

The average cost of car insurance in Louisiana varies between drivers. Here is the breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance costs by county for vehicle type below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
De Soto$1,381$1,204$1,324$1,401$1,464
East Baton Rouge$1,705$1,505$1,653$1,714$1,783
East Carroll$1,412$1,226$1,344$1,441$1,511
East Feliciana$1,823$1,605$1,758$1,751$1,916
Jefferson Davis$1,408$1,237$1,355$1,424$1,484
La Salle$1,409$1,226$1,343$1,440$1,504
Pointe Coupee$1,741$1,528$1,676$1,759$1,833
Red River$1,449$1,253$1,374$1,441$1,556
St. Bernard$2,394$1,972$2,298$2,141$2,463
St. Charles$1,783$1,572$1,716$1,729$1,879
St. Helena$1,791$1,566$1,715$1,751$1,898
St. James$1,701$1,507$1,648$1,676$1,776
St. John the Baptist$1,801$1,578$1,741$1,819$1,887
St. Landry$1,582$1,388$1,522$1,598$1,666
St. Martin$1,562$1,372$1,508$1,569$1,635
St. Mary$1,465$1,290$1,409$1,471$1,543
St. Tammany$1,547$1,369$1,495$1,564$1,625
West Baton Rouge$1,769$1,567$1,718$1,779$1,847
West Carroll$1,445$1,259$1,373$1,441$1,546
West Feliciana$1,732$1,525$1,664$1,751$1,827
louisiana car insurance costs

Choosing Auto Insurance Coverage in Louisiana

Auto insurance is a large investment, so it is important to choose an auto insurance company that you feel has your best interest at heart. Although getting a great rate is ideal, that should not be your only concern. It is important to fully understand just what your policy covers.

While it may be tempting to accept just the minimum coverage required by law, saving a few bucks on the front end can end up costing you dearly in the event of an accident. There are other options available to you, including:

Some of these options may be ideal for your needs. It is important to discuss it further with your insurance agent to make a plan to protect your assets.

Moving to Louisiana: Important Information

You must register for a Louisiana driver’s license within 30 days of moving to the state. One exception is if you are a full time student. To obtain a Louisiana driver’s license you must bring the following information.

Additionally, you should expect to pay a 4 percent usage tax. More information is available on the OMV website.

You also have 30 days to change your registration from an out of state to a Louisiana state registration. You will need to have several documents to complete your registration.

In addition, you will need to fill out a vehicle registration form. At that time, you will be scheduled for a vehicle inspection to inspect for safety.

Understanding Driving Laws in Louisiana

You should read and understand the driving laws in Louisiana before you try to get your state license. The State of Louisiana requires you to visit your local DMV in person to submit the required information. In addition, the state expects that you know the specific laws in the state. While some laws are the same state to state, some laws can differ greatly.

For example, it is against the law to text while driving in the State of Louisiana. In contrast, it is not against the law to use a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. However, individuals under the age of 18 and school bus drivers are not allowed to use a cell phone while driving. This applies to both handheld, as well as hands-free use of a cell phone.

Frequently Asked Questions About Louisiana Auto Insurance

Why is auto insurance so high for young drivers?

Statistically, young drivers have more accidents than experienced drivers do.

Why are the auto insurance rates in Louisiana so much higher than other states?

Louisiana’s auto insurance rates are higher for two primary reasons. First, Louisiana has a high rate of natural disasters. Second, Louisiana’s direct action state law allows people to sue insurance companies directly.

What auto insurance coverage is required by Louisiana state law?

Law requires liability insurance coverage; however, it may be a good idea to get more coverage to protect your assets.

How to Get Great Rates on Louisiana Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance. Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.