How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in North Carolina?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

In the state of North Carolina, you are required to have auto insurance. While the state’s General Assembly has worked hard to keep rates down, you still have to purchase at least the minimum insurance that is required under the law. This includes automobile liability coverage of:

The state also requires that you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This insurance provides coverage if another driver is at fault and that driver either has no auto insurance, or doesn’t have enough to cover the claim costs.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in North Carolina?

The best way to find the most affordable auto insurance in NC is to compare quotes. Here is a breakdown of the most common prices for a state minimum auto insurance policy in North Carolina:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Alamance$762$608$802$640$751
Alexander$773$608$815$642$761
Alleghany$784$610$828$646$771
Anson$924$751$972$789$910
Ashe$758$584$804$621$745
Avery$762$589$808$626$749
Beaufort$936$743$982$783$921
Bertie$950$744$1,002$785$935
Bladen$936$743$988$784$921
Brunswick$760$621$800$653$749
Buncombe$653$521$694$552$641
Burke$795$624$841$664$782
Cabarrus$790$622$833$657$778
Caldwell$776$602$824$640$763
Camden$790$634$830$666$778
Carteret$761$617$799$647$750
Caswell$914$716$964$756$900
Catawba$796$641$842$676$783
Chatham$772$605$813$638$760
Cherokee$706$550$752$586$693
Chowan$950$744$999$785$935
Clay$709$551$756$587$696
Cleveland$866$698$911$734$853
Columbus$936$743$988$784$921
Craven$742$603$782$634$731
Cumberland$933$751$986$792$918
Currituck$790$634$830$666$778
Dare$796$638$835$671$784
Davidson$767$612$809$646$755
Davie$714$573$754$604$702
Duplin$923$735$966$770$910
Durham$750$613$792$645$738
Edgecombe$936$743$988$784$921
Forsyth$700$573$738$602$689
Franklin$950$744$1,002$785$935
Gaston$854$689$905$728$840
Gates$950$744$1,002$785$935
Graham$708$552$754$587$695
Granville$914$716$964$756$900
Greene$936$743$982$784$921
Guilford$694$571$731$600$683
Halifax$950$744$1,002$785$935
Harnett$933$751$986$792$918
Haywood$666$522$709$555$654
Henderson$695$546$740$580$682
Hertford$950$744$1,002$785$935
Hoke$1,032$875$1,078$911$1,019
Hyde$811$647$853$682$798
Iredell$769$605$811$639$757
Jackson$671$524$715$558$659
Johnston$933$743$986$784$918
Jones$787$633$827$665$775
Lee$923$746$970$784$910
Lenoir$894$743$933$779$883
Lincoln$841$682$888$719$828
Macon$704$546$751$582$691
Madison$686$535$730$569$674
Martin$936$743$982$784$921
Mcdowell$703$548$749$584$690
Mecklenburg$796$656$839$689$785
Mitchell$742$574$786$609$729
Montgomery$785$617$826$650$773
Moore$769$605$810$638$757
Nash$936$743$985$784$921
New Hanover$875$723$920$757$863
Northampton$950$744$1,002$785$935
Onslow$755$619$794$649$744
Orange$693$550$732$581$681
Pamlico$775$626$814$657$764
Pasquotank$793$636$832$668$781
Pender$865$718$908$751$853
Perquimans$950$744$1,002$785$935
Person$914$716$964$756$900
Pitt$936$743$985$784$921
Polk$737$573$782$608$724
Randolph$777$611$817$644$765
Richmond$788$624$830$658$775
Robeson$977$794$1,029$834$963
Rockingham$786$614$828$649$773
Rowan$870$706$917$742$856
Rutherford$752$584$796$619$740
Sampson$933$743$986$784$918
Scotland$977$794$1,028$834$963
Stanly$792$625$834$659$780
Stokes$728$584$769$616$716
Surry$768$604$809$637$756
Swain$675$527$719$561$663
Transylvania$689$539$733$573$676
Tyrrell$950$744$1,002$785$935
Union$875$725$921$760$862
Vance$950$744$1,002$785$935
Wake$743$593$782$625$731
Warren$950$744$1,002$785$935
Washington$950$744$1,002$785$935
Watauga$753$583$798$619$740
Wayne$894$743$933$779$883
Wilkes$767$600$809$634$755
Wilson$901$743$936$784$890
Yadkin$757$597$796$629$745
Yancey$738$570$782$606$725

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in North Carolina

Residents of North Carolina have many resources to help them find auto insurance in the state. A good place to start is with the North Carolina DMV, where you can learn about the requirements for insurance and licensing in the state.

The Department of Insurance also has many resources to help you find the right auto insurance for your needs. The department publishes a helpful guide called “A Consumer’s Guide to Automobile Insurance.” The guide can answer many of your questions about rates and how to find an insurance company.

North Carolina’s State Driver Incentive Plan and Your Auto Insurance

It is worth your time and effort to be a good driver in North Carolina. The state’s General Assembly enacted the North Carolina Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP). Under this plan, drivers are charged higher premiums when they have poor driving records. Drivers who are convicted of a traffic violation or are found to have caused an accident have SDIP points added to their driving record.

Because the rates increase with each point earned, it’s in your best interest to maintain a good driving record.

Moving to North Carolina: Important Information

If you are planning to move to North Carolina, you must get a new driver’s license within 60 days of establishing residency. You will need to go to a state driver’s license office and take the state’s required tests. The DMV recommends that you take the time to check out the N.C. Driver’s Handbook before you do so. You will have to take a vision test, a road sign recognition test, and a written test.

In addition to getting a new driver’s license, you’ll also need to register any vehicles you have within a set period. This limit is determined by an agreement between your previous state and North Carolina, but is generally around 30 days. However, if you get a job in the state before the 30 days is up, you must register your vehicle at that time.

Understanding Driving Laws in North Carolina

Just like in many other states, you are required to go the speed limit and wear your seatbelt while driving. However, North Carolina has some laws that may be different from what you are used to in other states, so it’s a good idea to learn them.

One law that many people aren’t aware of is the “fender bender” law. Under this law, if you’re involved in a minor accident where no one is injured, you need to move over to the shoulder of the road if you can. The fine for not doing so is $110 plus any incurred court costs.

Another interesting state law is the “move over” law. If you see an emergency vehicle with its lights flashing on the shoulder of the highway, you have to reduce your speed and move over one lane, if safe to do so. This law also applies to public service vehicles with amber lights. The fine for failing to move over and slow down is $500.

Frequently Asked Questions About North Carolina Auto Insurance

Here are some common questions about North Carolina auto insurance:

1. Can drivers with too many SDIP points get insurance?

North Carolina law requires you to have auto insurance that meets minimum requirements. However, with high risk drivers, insurance companies often don’t want to take the risk, so those drivers are assigned to the state’s high-risk driver car insurance program.

2. What happens if you don’t pay your auto insurance on time?

There is no grace period for auto insurance and driving without insurance is against the law. Doing so could subject you to fines and penalties. In addition, if your insurance company cancels your insurance or doesn’t renew it, it automatically notifies the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), which could incur fines.

3. If you only purchase liability insurance, will the policy cover medical bills if an accident occurs?

No, if you only have liability insurance and are in an accident where you are injured, your insurance won’t pay your medical bills. Liability insurance only covers property damage and medical bills for other people.

How to Get Great Rates on North Carolina Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

North Carolina Auto Insurance Resources

Need more than just NC auto insurance quotes? We don’t just offer North Carolina auto insurance quotes. Here are some resources for more information on North Carolina auto insurance and driving laws:

North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

An online portal for driver’s licenses, vehicle registrations, renewals and general information

http://www.ncdot.org/dmv/

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.