How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Oregon?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

While you need auto insurance in Oregon to avoid breaking the law, it can also protect you, your family and your assets. You must have enough insurance to cover injury for up to the following minimum limits:

Oregon law also says liability insurance policies for vehicles must cover up to $15,000 per person to cover their injuries and policyholders should carry uninsured motorist insurance of $25,000 per person and $50,000 to cover bodily injuries in a crash.

If a police officer catches you driving without proof of insurance, the Department of Motor Vehicles will fine you, suspend your license and impound your vehicle. If you get into an accident without any insurance, the state can suspend your license for up to a year, and the people involved in the accident may sue you.

Average Cost of Car Insurance in Oregon by County

The costs of insurance in Oregon varies by each driver; however, here is a breakdown of state minimum coverage for the average drive in OR:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Hood River$955$806$910$942$998

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Oregon

The best place to find information about insurance in Oregon is on the Oregon Insurance Division website. This website has information about different kinds of insurance policies in the state.

If you want information about licensing, check the Oregon DMV website for information. If you want information on driver’s licenses, insurance or the Oregon Driver Manual, this is the place to go.

Finding Ways to Save on Car Insurance, Oregon

While you want to have the legally required auto insurance, you also want to make sure you’re not paying too much and you’re taking advantage of any discounts available.

Oregon law says insurance companies can only use the last three years’ worth of your driving records to determine how much you should pay for coverage. If you have no violations within the last three years, ask the company to look at your record to see if you qualify for a discount.

If you’re 55 or older, you can get a discount if you pass an approved accident-prevention course. You can take a state-certified safety driving course from some places, such as the AARP, to get this discount.

While having a teen on your policy usually means you have to pay more, there are some discounts younger people can get. In Oregon, drivers younger than 25 can get discounts if they have good grades or attend a school more than 100 miles from home.

Moving to Oregon: Important Information

If you are moving to Oregon from another state, make sure you handle your insurance and driver’s license tasks within 30 days of becoming a resident. To apply for a new license, go to your local DMV office with proof of citizenship, Social Security number and proof of your full legal name. You’ll also transfer your vehicle registration to Oregon and pass a vehicle inspection test.

If you are visiting Oregon, then your out-of-state insurance policy will work in the state, but make sure you have proof of insurance with you at all times. Once you move to Oregon, make sure you get a policy from a company that has a license to sell in the state.

Understanding Driving Laws in Oregon

While some basic driving laws are the same in all states, drivers should know about some laws that are specific to Oregon.

One law is the “Move Over or Slow Down” law. This law says that if you come upon an emergency vehicle, roadside assistance vehicle or tow truck with its flashers on, then you must move over to another lane or slow down to at least 5 miles per hour below the speed limit.

Oregon’s school zone law requires that all drivers slow down in school zones between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m., during school hours, when warning lights are flashing, or simply whenever children are present.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Insurance, Oregon

With so many things to know and so many companies to choose from, you might be confused as to which one is right for you. Read the following frequently asked questions to help you make a better decision.

1. Do you need to verify your insurance?

Once a month, the Oregon DMV picks vehicles at random and the drivers must verify they have insurance. If the DMV picks your car, then you must respond immediately or risk penalties.

2. Can you show proof of insurance on your phone or tablet?

As of May 2013, drivers in Oregon can show proof in electronic form, such as a copy of their card on a smartphone, laptop or tablet. You must show this proof to police officers when requested. If you only carry your information on your phone or mobile device, then make sure it is always charged.

3. What do you do when you get your insurance card?

As soon as you receive your card, make sure all the information is correct. Verify that the registration information for your car matches what is on the card. Contact your insurance company if you find any information that’s different and carry this card with you or in your car at all times.

How to Get Great Rates on Oregon Car Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

Oregon Car Insurance Resources

Need more than just Oregon car insurance quotes? Here are some resources to get you started in learning about Oregon insurance.

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles

Consumer information and online services for Oregon drivers and vehicle owners Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.