Colorado Auto Insurance Quotes
In Colorado, auto insurance is mandatory and regulated by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you’re a driver in Colorado, your insurance policy must meet the following requirements:
- $25,000 for injury/death to one person
- $50,000 for injury/death to more than one person
- $15,000 for damage to property
Colorado is also a “fault” insurance state, which means that injured persons have multiple insurance options after an accident. Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is not mandatory, but it can help you pay for medical bills if an accident was your fault.
The Colorado DMV also requires auto insurers to offer $5,000 in medical payment coverage. If you do not opt-out of this coverage, insurers automatically add medical payment coverage and its higher premium to your policy. Although it is not mandatory, medical payment coverage provides funds in an accident regardless of fault.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Colorado
You have many resources available for learning about auto insurance and commercial auto insurance. A simple chat with an auto insurer or a trip to the DMV can help you learn about all the regulations and requirements for auto coverage. Before you compare different car insurance quotes, Colorado laws should be brushed up on so you know what kind of coverage you need.
If you’re in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist, you can still receive full compensation and coverage under Colorado Statute 10-4-609. This statute states that Colorado insurers must provide uninsured coverage with every policy.
Because of your driving history, insurance companies may designate you as a “high-risk” individual and refuse coverage. The Colorado High Risk Auto Plan connects you with insurance companies so that you can always find a policy.
Cheap Colorado Car Insurance and Discounts
If you are in need of cheap car insurance, Colorado rates can be decreased depending on your situation. Fortunately, you can find many discounts available when you’re searching for car insurance. Here are some things that can affect the price of your auto insurance policy:
- Age (those under 25 pay higher rates due to increased accident risk.)
- Gender (male drivers pay more for coverage).
- Marital status.
- Driving record.
- Where you live (some areas have a higher risk of theft.)
- Your vehicle (newer vehicles are typically cheaper to insure because of advanced safety features.)
A good way to find affordable coverage is to get insurance quotes from several companies. Try to get at least three different quotes and always ask the insurer about ways that it can help lower your costs.
Other ways you can save on auto insurance include:
- Requesting higher deductibles (for example $1,000 instead of $500.)
- Asking about discounts for vehicles with higher safety ratings.
- Asking about discounts for taking a Defensive Driving Course.
Moving to Colorado: Important Information
If you’re moving to Colorado, you have 30 days to obtain a Colorado driver’s license after becoming a resident. To get your license, you must go to the local DMV to fill out the application and provide proof of U.S. residency. You are also required to take a vision and aptitude test and surrender your out-of-state driver’s license. If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian must sign an Affidavit of Liability.
You have 90 days after becoming a resident to register your out-of-state vehicle as well. To register your vehicle in Colorado, there are a few things you must do:
- Provide Certificate of Title.
- Complete DR 2395 Verification of the Vehicle Identification Number.
- Provide proof of insurance.
- Take an emissions test if applicable.
Understanding Driving Laws in Colorado
There are many laws that you need to know about before driving in Colorado. These laws can be confusing for out-of-state drivers and new residents.
You should know about seatbelt laws in Colorado, as these are strictly enforced. Drivers, front seat passengers, and any children up to 16 must wear a seatbelt at all times. Additionally, children from 4 to 7 years old must have a booster seat. Children from 1 to 4 must have a front-facing safety seat, and children under 1 must have a rear facing safety seat.
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is quite different from other states. If you have a blood alcohol content of 0.05 percent or higher, you’ll face hefty fines and potential jail time. That figure is 0.08 percent in nearly every other state.
Frequently Asked Questions About Colorado Auto Insurance
Auto insurance can be difficult to understand. Following are some common questions that you may have about auto insurance:
How much is car insurance a month in Colorado?
The cost of car insurance will depend on different factors, like the kind of coverage you choose, which city you live in, and your personal driving record. For minimum coverage, coverage in Colorado can cost as low as $60 a month, and full coverage costs about $175 a month on average.
Are you covered while driving someone else’s car?
Car insurance always goes with the car and not the driver. If you get into an accident while driving someone else’s car, his or her insurance would cover damages. However, many insurance companies have strict rules that state you must be listed on another person’s policy to qualify for coverage, so this is important to note before getting behind the wheel of a car that isn’t yours.
Will basic insurance cover collisions with an animal?
Hitting deer and other animals is a common problem in Colorado, and your basic liability insurance won’t cover the damages. Collision coverage will cover damages to your vehicle, but even this policy won’t cover bodily injuries. A rider (add-on coverage) that covers medical expenses is a smart idea in Colorado, as it can help defray your medical costs whether you hit an animal, another vehicle, or anything else. Comprehensive coverage will cover damage to your car if you hit an animal.
What is the difference between collision and comprehensive coverage?
Collision coverage provides insurance when your car collides with another car or an object. Comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle against theft and any other kind of physical damage. Don’t forget that whichever type you choose for your car insurance, Colorado law only requires liability coverage in order to be legal in the state.
How to Get Great Rates on Colorado Car Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual. If you’re looking for car insurance quotes, Colorado has many providers to choose from depending on your personal situation and needs.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.