Connecticut Auto Insurance Quotes
Connecticut state law requires that you have liability insurance on all vehicles with active registration you own in the state. This law states that all vehicles must have auto insurance that meets minimum requirements:
- $20,000 for injury/death to one person.
- $40,000 for injury/death to more than one person.
- $10,000 for property damages.
Connecticut insurance law requires all insurers in the state to report their records of known uninsured vehicles to the state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
When your insurance policy is canceled, the insurer notifies the DMV. If you are caught without a valid insurance policy, you will be given a warning by the DMV. This warning states that in order to keep your license and registration, you must enter into a consent agreement, obtain a new insurance policy, and pay a fine.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Connecticut
Connecticut residents have many resources available when looking for auto insurance. Fortunately, the Connecticut DMV serves as a great starting point.
If you are a State of Connecticut employee, the Supplemental Benefits Program works with insurers to provide discounted auto and home insurance. These benefits are for people who are working more than 17.5 hours a week, retirees who once worked with the state, and spouses.
If you are a high risk individual and you can’t find coverage, you have two basic options:
- Non-standard insurance (an insurance plan issued to a high risk driver, either due to a DUI conviction or a driver using a high performance or modified vehicle as primary transportation.
- Connecticut Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan.
According to the Connecticut Department of Insurance, the non-standard options are less expensive than the Automobile Insurance Assigned Risk Plan. However, the market for non-standard insurance plans is quite limited.
Tips for Saving on Connecticut Auto Insurance
If you’re a driver in Connecticut, the following tips can help you save on a policy:
- Obtain quotes from multiple insurers to find the best price and coverage plan.
- Raise your deductibles (out-of-pocket costs.)
- Maintain a good driving record.
- Complete an accident prevention course (the state offers numerous approved programs that yield great savings upon completion.)
Purchasing a modest, economical car is another way you can qualify for lower insurance rates in Connecticut. Anti-theft devices, good grades for younger drivers, and the addition of home insurance can provide cost savings as well.
Moving to Connecticut: Important Information
If you’re moving to Connecticut, you need to go to the DMV within 30 days to convert your out-of-state license. Your current license and registration must be valid to receive your license. The DMV also requires a vision test and fees for the license and registration.
In Connecticut, you must register an out-of-state vehicle within 60 days, and in the meantime, you’ll need a temporary registration. You may also need to get an emissions inspection within 30 days after registration.
Understanding Driving Laws in Connecticut
In Connecticut, you can’t use a cellphone while driving. You can use hands-free devices, but texting and talking directly on your phone both result in fines. Also, drivers under 18 may not use cell phones at all, even if they are talking through a hands-free device.
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is also strictly enforced, and if you’re caught, you’ll have to serve jail time, pay significant fines, and lose your license for a period of time. According to the Implied Consent Law, police officers can chemically test your blood if they suspect that you are driving under the influence. Refusal to take this test immediately results in fines and license suspension.
Frequently Asked Questions About Connecticut Auto Insurance
1. What are some factors that can affect the cost of car insurance?
Insurers take many different factors into account when determining the cost of your auto insurance. Your insurer will look at the type of car you drive, what purpose your car serves, your past driving record, and even the location where you store your car.
2. How can you get your teen covered without having to pay high premiums?
For teenagers, you are going to have to pay higher premiums. However, you can save money if your teen gets good grades (Bs and above) which may qualify him for a good student discount. Additionally, certain factors affect the price of the premiums for your teen, including:
- Your teen’s vehicle (a luxury or high performance car costs more to insure.)
- Gender (males typically pay more for coverage.)
- One to two years of safe driving.
3. What should you do when you sell your car?
When selling your car, sign the reverse side of the title and give it to the new owner with a bill of sale (form H-31). Remove your plates and return them to the DMV along with the registration certificate. You may want to cancel your insurance policy until you have a new car.
How to Get Great Rates on Connecticut Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Connecticut Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just Connecticut auto insurance quotes? We offer insurance information in addition to our excellent auto insurance quotes in Connecticut. If you’d like to learn more about Connecticut insurance, here are some helpful websites.
A portal for information on the laws and regulations governing insurance in Connecticut
An online resource for license registration, renewals and general information
Can you talk and drive in Connecticut?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.