Delaware Auto Insurance Quotes
Auto insurance protects you and the passengers in your vehicle in the event of an accident. In Delaware, for every vehicle you own, there are minimum requirements that your insurance policy must meet. Your insurance must cover:
- $15,000 for death or injury for one person.
- $30,000 for death or injury for two or more persons.
- $5,000 for property damage.
The State of Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles audits all vehicles to ensure all drivers have insurance. If you receive an audit on your vehicle, you must get an Insurance Certification Form (FR-19) from your insurer. If your insurance provider cancels your coverage, it will then file a Notice of Cancellation with the DMV. This notice gives you 30 days to find a new policy.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Delaware
As a resident of Delaware, there are many places you can go to learn more about auto insurance in the state. To start learning about auto insurance, the state DMV offers valuable data, contact details, and up-to-date regulations.
In Delaware, you cannot self-insure or leave a bond to satisfy your financial requirements. Under Regulation 608, every auto insurance provider must provide contact information to the Department of Insurance, including telephone numbers and e-mail addresses. If you have complaints or troubles when finding insurance, you can file arbitration with the Insurance Commissioner‘s Office.
Tips for Finding Affordable Delaware Auto Insurance
As a resident of Delaware, there are many places you can go to learn about auto insurance in the state. You should go to the local DMV or speak with your insurer to learn about the state’s insurance regulations. You can save money on your auto insurance by:
- Getting quotes from different companies and comparing prices.
- Taking a Defensive Driving Course to lower your rates.
- Asking about discounts for security features, such as anti-lock brakes, air bags, and passive restraint systems.
- Seeking companies that offer bundle discounts for home and auto insurance.
If you are older than 18 and you haven’t bought auto insurance before, you may have to pay higher rates. However, you can save money by asking about discounts that may be available to you. For inexperienced and younger drivers, these include discounts for good grades and driving safely.
Moving to Delaware: Important Information
If you’re moving to Delaware, you must apply for a Delaware driver’s license within 60 days of becoming a resident. To get your license, you will have to go to the local DMV office and turn in the following documents:
- Your out-of-state driver’s license or a copy of your driving record.
- Birth certificate, proof of Social Security Number, and two proofs of Delaware residency.
Once you turn in your papers, you will also have to fill out an application and pass a vision test.
If you’ve purchased a car out-of-state, you have 60 days to title and register your vehicle. Additionally, you are also required to do the following:
- Provide your valid insurance policy.
- Present your vehicle at a DMV office along with your certificate of title or current registration.
- Make sure your vehicle will pass a vehicle inspection.
- Complete a Certificate of Title application (MV-212.)
Understanding Driving Laws in Delaware
To minimize risk, you need to be aware of the unique driving laws in the state.
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal and strictly enforced, as it is in every state. If caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, you risk license suspension, jail time, and fines. According to the Implied Consent law, police officers can chemically test any driver suspected of driving under the influence. Additionally, Delaware’s zero tolerance law allows immediate license suspension for underage drivers with a BAC of 0.02 percent.
Delaware does not have strict driving laws regarding cell phones. Adults are free to use their cell phones while driving, although a hands-free device is recommended. If you are under 18 years of age, any use of cell phones or other devices results in a 30-day license suspension.
Frequently Asked Questions About Delaware Auto Insurance
1. What is the difference between comprehensive and collision coverage?
Collision coverage only covers you when you have a collision with another car or object. Comprehensive coverage covers you in the event of theft, weather-related damage, cracked or broken windshields, and other ailments. Although comprehensive is much cheaper, it is also riskier if you do have a collision.
2. What are some ways to lower teenage premiums on a family policy?
If it is possible, purchase an inexpensive car for your teenager. Letting your teen drive a nicer car actually raises the premium, while a modest car keeps the prices manageable. Also, a driver’s education course, good grades, and maintaining a good driving record may qualify for teen for discounts.
3. What is Delaware Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance?
PIP is a type of no-fault insurance law in Delaware. If you are in an accident, the PIP insurance covers your medical bills and lost wages. However, under Delaware state law, you are still able to sue the person who caused the accident.
How to Get Great Rates on Delaware Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.