Mississippi Auto Insurance Quotes
Mississippi is a diverse state mixed with backcountry roads and open highways. Whether you are relocating within the state or moving there from elsewhere, auto insurance is a necessary part of owning and operating a vehicle in Mississippi. The state of Mississippi requires all registered vehicles to have liability coverage, per the Mississippi Auto Insurance Code. You must have the following liability minimum coverage:
- $25,000 per person per single accident
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property damage
Auto Insurance Rates for Mississippi
Car insurance rates in Mississippi vary depending on the vehicle you drive and the type of coverage you want. Rates also depend on your age and driving record. To get the best price for your auto insurance premium, make sure you get quotes from different insurance companies and check for all available discounts.
Agents offer similar coverage at different rates, and many even offer a lesser or greater discount based on certain factors. Find out which discounts you qualify for and then seek out insurers that offer discounts in those circumstances.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Mississippi
The Mississippi Department of Public Safety is a good place to learn about the requirements for auto insurance coverage. Other resources, like the Mississippi Automobile Insurance Plan, provide help to high risk drivers who have a difficult time finding coverage. The Driver Services section of the DPS site is of great use, explaining the state driver’s license kiosks that save you the time of waiting in line to renew your license.
Mississippi Auto Insurance Tips
As a driver in Mississippi, there are a few tips you can follow to find affordable insurance, including the following:
1. Get auto insurance quotes from different companies to see who offers the best coverage and prices.
2. Always ask about insurance discounts offered for multi-car coverage and safety features, such as airbags, automatic seat belts, and anti-theft devices. Never expect the insurer to offer you every discount you may qualify for unless you ask.
3. Ask about other discounts that may apply; many companies offer discounts for teenagers who take driver training classes, as well as for senior citizens who take defensive driving courses.
Moving to Mississippi: Important Information
If you’re moving to Mississippi, the Department of Public Safety requires you to get a new driver’s license within 60 days of moving. To get a Mississippi driver’s license, you fill out an application, show proof of identity and residence, take a vision exam and written test, and pay the applicable fees.
You also must register out-of-state vehicles in Mississippi within 30 days at the tax collector’s office. Mississippi collects tax fees and fees based on the vehicle’s value and county of residence.
Understanding Driving Laws in Mississippi
If you are new to Mississippi or unfamiliar with the state’s traffic laws, you can use the Motor Vehicle Code, known as Title 63 of the State Code. Title 63 lists all the laws involving motor vehicles and their use in the state. There are 16 sections in Title 63, such as Driver’s License, Mandatory Seat Belt Usage, Traffic Rules, Regulations, and Violations.
One law that is strictly enforced is the use of seat belts for vehicle operators and front-seat passengers. Exemptions from this law include:
- Riders with written proof from a doctor that seat belt use is dangerous due to medical reasons
- Drivers and passengers in vehicles intended for farm use
- On-duty drivers of the U.S. Postal Service and on-duty meter readers
If police pull you over and you don’t have proof of auto insurance, you face hefty fines. It is important to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle. Failure to provide proof of insurance not only results in large fines but can also lead to suspension of your vehicle registration.
Frequently Asked Questions About Mississippi Auto Insurance
What is valid proof of liability insurance?
The best proof is the insurance card provided by your insurance company. The card has information about the vehicle’s make, model, vehicle identification number (VIN), and the policy’s expiration date. It is your responsibility to make sure you carry a current insurance card in the vehicle. Other acceptable proofs of insurance include:
- Temporary insurance cards provided by the insurance company
- Current declarations page of a liability insurance policy
- Actual liability insurance policy issued for the vehicle
How do you get an insurance quote?
There are several ways to get insurance quotes. You can contact the company directly via phone or in person, or you can go on its website and enter your information to receive a quote. You will need your personal information, such as driver’s license and address, as well as your vehicle’s information.
What do insurance companies need from you to issue a “good driver” discount?
To receive a “good driver” discount, insurance companies ask you to avoid driving violations within a specified amount of time. Some companies will look at your previous driving record and decide if you qualify for this kind of discount when giving you a quote.
How to Get Great Rates on Mississippi Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.