Vermont Auto Insurance Quotes
Vermont law states that you have to be responsible for your vehicle. The state offers a few ways to do this. You can self-insure to $115,000, or get standard auto insurance. You self-insure by placing a bond in the state’s care to cover any potential damage you cause. Title 23: Chapter 11 800 of the Vermont Statutes states these options along with state insurance law. For most, the liability insurance is the only way to go. The minimum requirements in Vermont are:
- $25,000 per person.
- $50,000 per accident..
- $10,000 for vehicle or property damage.
A 25/50/10 is Vermont’s lowest accepted insurance. This is a low value insurance policy but you can also choose to purchase additional coverage. You will have to submit proof of your insurance to the DMV after getting a policy and keep your insurance card in your vehicle whenever you drive. Vermont requires you to show proof of insurance whenever a police officer asks for it. If you do not show your card, then you have 15 days to send a copy to the DMV.
Your insurer will notify the DMV when you have insurance. It will also message the DMV when you cancel or change it. Vermont statute 941 of Title 23 also requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage at the same 25/50/10 levels. You can purchase this insurance along with your standard liability.
Auto Insurance Rates for Vermont
Vermont auto insurance varies greatly in cost. For this reason, you should shop around and find the best insurance based on your situation. Many insurance providers offer different rates based on your risk rating. You can also get different rates depending on your driving record and your vehicle. You can usually lower your rates by asking for discounts to see what you qualify for. Most insurers in Vermont offer discounts to anyone who is 25 and under or 55 and older. Some insurance agencies in the state also offer driving tests to evaluate your driving in order to set a premium.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Vermont
If you are looking for information on auto insurance in Vermont, there are plenty of places to look. The Department of Financial Regulation is a good place to look for specific information on finance. The site covers most types insurance related questions along with information on scams. A unique aspect of this site is the ability to ask a question and have it answered by a Vermont employee.
The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles is another excellent place to look for information. The DMV is the most accurate source of information for Vermont drivers.
Comprehensive Car Insurance for Vermont Winters
Vermont’s harsh weather conditions and winter storms come every year, so you want to be prepared. One idea is to consider getting a comprehensive insurance policy along with your state minimum insurance. Comprehensive policies usually cover damage caused by storms and winter conditions. For example, this policy would cover you in the case of a tree or branch falling on your car. A comprehensive policy can add a lot more protection to your vehicle.
Usually, you can also get discounts by purchasing multiple types of insurance from the same company. This means that it may only cost slightly more to get full coverage or have a comprehensive policy attached to your liability and damage insurance.
Moving to Vermont: Important Information
If you are moving to Vermont, you have to consider a few important laws. The first is that you have 60 days to register your vehicle in Vermont. This requires having the minimum insurance coverage required by the state. You will also need a state issued insurance verification card. Ask if your current insurance agency covers Vermont. If not, you will have to look for a new insurance policy.
You have to fill out a Registration Application Form in order to apply for your registration. You should already have a state insurance card when you apply. There is also a fee for a mandatory inspection as well as your vehicle registration and new plates. Once you have registered your vehicle, you have 15 days to have it inspected.
Vermont gives you 60 days to apply for and get a local driver’s license. You do have to take a vision test before getting the new license. You also need your old driver’s license, two proofs of Vermont residency, and one additional type of identification. If you are taking the road test, you have to bring your vehicle, vehicle registration, and Vermont insurance ID card.
Understanding Driving Laws in Vermont
If you are moving to Vermont from another state, stop and consider the driving laws. The speed limit in Vermont is low when compared to many other states. The speed limit is 65 mph on rural interstates, 55 mph on urban interstates, and 50 mph on access roads. This is much slower than some surrounding states, so you might have to adjust. Downtown areas, work zones, and school zones usually have speed limits of 20-35 miles per hour.
Vermont also holds a texting ban for all drivers. Drivers who are under 18 cannot use a cell phone behind the wheel at all. A hands-free device is often the best idea for adult drivers, and even that is banned for drivers under 18.
Frequently Asked Questions About Vermont Auto Insurance
If you have questions about your insurance, you should consider asking your insurer. Here are a few frequently asked questions that you can refer to:
1. What are insurance requirements?
Vermont’s insurance requirements are that you either insure with the standard 25/50/10 insurance or choose another method. Your options include putting that same money up as a bond for the DMV. You can also prove that you are self insured to the amount of $115,000. You need an insurance ID card no matter which of these you choose.
2. How do points affect premiums?
Vermont insurance agencies pay close attention to your driving record when setting a premium. If you have negative points due to driving infractions, then you are a higher risk. Most insurance agencies will charge you a higher rate or deny you coverage if you have too many points.
3. What is UM coverage?
The state of Vermont requires you to have uninsured motorist coverage of 25/50/10. UM coverage insures you in case you get into an accident with an uninsured driver. It also covers you if you are involved in a hit and run accident.
How to Get Great Rates on Vermont Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.