How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Maine?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Maine state law requires all drivers to show proof of financial responsibility for any vehicle they operate. The best way you can do this is by having auto insurance. The price for auto insurance varies from person to person. The rate can be higher or lower than the average depending on several factors, including:

In addition, the deductible and coverage that you choose makes a difference in price as well. The minimum coverage requirements for Maine are:

While this is the minimum required by law, it is a good idea to talk to your insurance agent to determine your own specific needs.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Maine?

The average cost of car insurance in Maine varies between drivers. Here is the breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance costs by county for vehicle type below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Androscoggin$477$366$465$407$438
Aroostook$418$325$445$358$387
Cumberland$414$323$434$351$383
Franklin$469$366$485$400$433
Hancock$398$310$422$335$372
Kennebec$448$348$474$381$411
Knox$404$313$428$343$374
Lincoln$435$337$461$372$401
Oxford$472$367$502$404$435
Penobscot$435$338$450$371$400
Piscataquis$443$344$468$376$408
Sagadahoc$475$345$438$407$437
Somerset$436$339$461$368$404
Waldo$428$333$452$363$395
Washington$425$331$450$361$395
York$461$345$431$402$422

Tips to Get a Great Price on Maine Auto Insurance

You are required to have auto insurance in the state of Maine. The good news is that Maine has rates that are among the lowest in the country. In addition, you may also be eligible for some auto insurance discounts, including:

In addition to these discounts, if you are over the age of 55, Maine laws states that every insurance company must offer a discount if you attend an approved accident prevention course.

Moving to Maine: Important Information

If you move to Maine and have a valid out-of-state driver’s license, you can get a Maine driver’s license by visiting the local DMV. You must be able to prove that you are a Maine resident. You can do this by providing the DMV with a utility bill, check stub, or other legal document. In addition, you will need to provide your birth certificate.

You will need to take a vision screening, as well as pay the required license fees and get your picture taken. You must also turn in your out-of-state license to get your new Maine license.

All new residents must register their vehicle in Maine. To do this, you need to visit your local town’s government office. According to Maine law, if your vehicle is 1995 or newer, you must be able to show the title of the vehicle. If your vehicle is older than 1995, showing a title is not necessary. Either way, you will need to show the registration from the state that you moved from, as well as your current dated insurance card.

Another important fact to know is that there is an excise tax, which is an indirect tax charged on the sale of a product, due yearly when you register your vehicle. The amount of the tax varies based on the value of your vehicle.

Understanding Driving Laws in Maine

It is important to read and understand the driving laws in Maine before you attempt to get your state license. While there are many laws that are the same state to state, there are particular to Maine. A good example is Title 29-A §2119, which prohibits text messaging.

As in most states, Maine has strict seat belt laws. Children under 40 pounds must be secured in a child safety seat. Those between the ages 8 and 18 must be restrained by a regular car seat belt.

Frequently Asked Questions About Maine Auto Insurance

What will an insurance policy cost per year?

The price of your insurance policy varies greatly depending on your specific circumstances. Things such as; young drivers in the household, your credit worthiness, as well as the number of vehicles that you need to insure can affect the price greatly.

What auto insurance coverage does Maine law require?

There are three types of auto insurance coverage required by law in the state:

How can you obtain proof of insurance coverage?

Most insurance companies send a card to prove insurance coverage. In addition, most insurance companies will send electronic confirmation of coverage if needed.

How to Get Great Rates on Maine Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.