How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Missouri?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Getting a new car is exciting, so having the proper insurance in place before heading out on the road makes your ride safe and worry free. Missouri requires by law that all registered vehicles have liability insurance coverage. When you register a new vehicle or renew your plates, you must present proof that you have insurance. Liability insurance covers you in the event of an accident. The following minimums are in place in Missouri:

These figures are just minimums and many drivers choose higher limits for more protection and peace of mind.

Auto Insurance Rates for Missouri

Insurers are free to set their own rates based on claims risk, so it makes sense to shop around. The overall cost isn’t the deciding factor; it’s how much coverage you get for your money. The following factors help to determine your rate:

1. Your coverage levels and chosen deductible: A higher deductible equates to a lower rate, but you will pay more out of pocket in the event of an accident.

2. Type and age of your vehicle: Older cars without modern safety features and high performance cars face higher premiums.

3. Age and gender of drivers: Risks due to age and gender can increase your rate, for example, young male drivers are typically the most expensive to insure.

4. Driving history: You obviously pay less if you have few infractions on your driving record.

5. Where you live: A vehicle stored and used on and around a farm will obviously cost you less to insure than a luxury car in a big city.

Average Cost for Car Insurance in Missouri by County

The average cost of car insurance in Missouri varies between drivers. Here is the breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance costs by county for vehicle type below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Adair$1,033$856$1,016$911$1,106
Andrew$1,055$874$986$931$1,131
Atchison$1,102$909$1,023$965$1,186
Audrain$947$811$884$911$1,036
Barry$1,044$888$980$948$1,134
Barton$1,069$889$1,002$948$1,141
Bates$1,075$891$1,019$948$1,152
Benton$1,099$912$1,050$972$1,174
Bollinger$1,031$885$976$981$1,110
Boone$922$791$876$905$992
Buchanan$1,081$920$1,019$981$1,171
Butler$1,089$920$1,024$981$1,177
Caldwell$1,055$874$1,087$931$1,131
Callaway$949$813$892$918$1,032
Camden$1,081$926$1,011$1,021$1,177
Cape Girardeau$1,001$857$944$948$1,083
Carroll$1,054$873$1,023$928$1,130
Carter$1,143$954$1,179$1,016$1,218
Cass$1,018$879$965$986$1,093
Cedar$1,099$912$1,050$972$1,174
Chariton$1,038$860$985$915$1,113
Christian$1,083$935$1,030$1,016$1,157
Clark$1,019$849$1,016$905$1,086
Clay$1,029$882$974$1,021$1,109
Clinton$1,075$891$1,059$948$1,152
Cole$901$772$848$911$979
Cooper$1,032$862$960$918$1,104
Crawford$941$802$883$968$1,022
Dade$1,099$912$1,038$972$1,174
Dallas$1,099$912$1,031$972$1,174
Daviess$1,055$874$1,023$931$1,131
Dekalb$1,075$891$1,023$948$1,152
Dent$975$832$913$988$1,061
Douglas$1,099$912$1,038$972$1,174
Dunklin$1,024$880$967$981$1,101
Franklin$1,081$925$1,019$1,016$1,170
Gasconade$1,069$889$997$948$1,141
Gentry$1,102$909$1,023$965$1,186
Greene$1,053$910$1,007$981$1,119
Grundy$1,055$874$1,001$931$1,131
Harrison$1,106$940$1,023$995$1,221
Henry$973$837$910$948$1,059
Hickory$1,102$925$1,038$986$1,185
Holt$1,019$849$1,021$905$1,086
Howard$1,035$862$990$918$1,104
Howell$1,099$912$1,051$972$1,174
Iron$1,104$920$1,125$981$1,177
Jackson$1,028$887$979$1,028$1,099
Jasper$1,028$883$970$981$1,110
Jefferson$1,105$951$1,050$1,086$1,181
Johnson$939$805$883$958$1,020
Knox$1,055$874$1,067$931$1,131
Laclede$948$811$888$948$1,028
Lafayette$954$813$894$905$1,039
Lawrence$1,020$868$958$981$1,106
Lewis$1,038$860$995$915$1,113
Lincoln$1,089$920$1,026$981$1,177
Linn$1,033$856$1,017$911$1,106
Livingston$1,033$856$997$911$1,106
Macon$1,019$849$957$905$1,086
Madison$1,088$935$1,021$1,016$1,182
Maries$916$782$860$943$995
Marion$1,003$856$938$911$1,095
Mcdonald$1,069$889$1,038$948$1,141
Mercer$1,148$940$1,145$995$1,245
Miller$1,046$889$980$948$1,140
Mississippi$1,010$868$958$981$1,085
Moniteau$1,019$849$990$905$1,086
Monroe$1,035$862$1,068$918$1,104
Montgomery$1,019$849$987$905$1,086
Morgan$1,071$914$1,002$986$1,170
New Madrid$925$794$873$947$997
Newton$1,073$912$1,004$972$1,166
Nodaway$1,038$860$965$915$1,113
Oregon$1,099$912$1,151$972$1,174
Osage$1,035$862$1,014$918$1,104
Ozark$1,102$920$1,038$981$1,177
Pemiscot$951$816$899$971$1,023
Perry$1,011$867$954$975$1,094
Pettis$949$814$892$905$1,029
Phelps$914$783$860$905$989
Pike$1,035$862$971$918$1,104
Platte$1,077$923$1,018$986$1,157
Polk$1,102$925$1,038$986$1,185
Pulaski$964$818$906$926$1,047
Putnam$1,148$940$1,067$995$1,245
Ralls$1,019$849$1,015$905$1,086
Randolph$1,038$860$1,017$915$1,113
Ray$1,035$862$992$918$1,104
Reynolds$1,173$973$1,144$1,036$1,255
Ripley$1,154$962$1,157$1,024$1,232
Saline$903$770$840$905$991
Schuyler$1,054$873$1,016$928$1,130
Scotland$1,019$849$1,016$905$1,086
Scott$956$820$904$977$1,029
Shannon$1,117$928$1,166$988$1,194
Shelby$1,019$849$1,067$905$1,086
St. Charles$958$824$915$971$1,021
St. Clair$1,032$887$964$975$1,123
St. Francois$1,049$903$990$1,021$1,132
St. Louis$1,028$888$986$1,038$1,090
St. Louis city$1,153$996$1,105$1,167$1,226
Ste. Genevieve$1,046$901$988$981$1,130
Stoddard$954$821$897$926$1,032
Stone$1,101$928$1,038$988$1,188
Sullivan$1,148$940$1,067$995$1,245
Taney$1,102$943$1,038$1,052$1,192
Texas$975$832$913$948$1,061
Vernon$1,035$862$991$918$1,104
Warren$1,070$919$1,010$981$1,156
Washington$1,164$971$1,154$1,035$1,241
Wayne$1,109$952$1,045$1,044$1,199
Webster$1,107$945$1,040$1,018$1,201
Worth$1,102$909$1,023$965$1,186
Wright$975$832$913$948$1,061

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Missouri

You have many available resources to help you find information about insurance requirements and obtain coverage. You can contact or visit a local DMV or contact the Missouri Department of Insurance for help.

If you are a high-risk driver and have trouble getting coverage on the open market, the Missouri Joint Underwriting Association (MJUA) can offer you coverage if you are eligible.

Moving to Missouri: Important Information

If you are moving to Missouri, you have 30 days to surrender your license and get a Missouri driver’s license. You have to fill out an application form for a new license at the Department of Revenue and take a vision exam and road recognition test. You need to take a written exam and driving skills test if your out-of-state license is expired for more than 184 days.

Out-of-state vehicles need registration within 30 days of moving to Missouri by completing an application for a Missouri Title and License. If you own more than one vehicle, you will need to fill out a separate application for each vehicle.

Understanding Driving Laws in Missouri

If you are driving in Missouri, it is important to know its traffic laws. In Missouri, the Department of Revenue keeps track of drivers by using a point system. The Department of Revenue is notified when you receive a conviction for a driving violation, and it assigns points to your record. For example, a speeding violation is three points. If you gain more than four points within 12 months, you receive an accumulation advisory. Your license is suspended if you receive more than 8 points in 18 months.

Missouri features typical seat belt laws:

Missouri is a bit lax with cell phone laws as compared to other states. The only restriction is that children under 21 can’t text while driving

Frequently Asked Questions About Missouri Auto Insurance

Do all auto insurance companies offer the same coverage and discounts?

All companies offer the basic vehicle policies, like Liability, Collision, and Comprehensive, but discounts and coverage vary greatly between companies.

How do you get an insurance quote?

You get an insurance quote by directly contacting the insurance company and speaking to an agent in person or over the phone. You can also get auto insurance quotes online, by entering information like the vehicle’s make, model, and year, as well as your name and driver’s license number.

Are there other ways to meet insurance requirements in Missouri?

Besides liability coverage, car owners can file for proof of financial responsibility with the Department of Revenue. Another way to meet insurance requirement is to get a certificate of self-insurance. This kind of insurance is only for companies and religious organizations with 26 vehicles or more.

How to Get Great Rates on Missouri Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.