How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in North Dakota?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

f your vehicle is registered in the State of North Dakota, you must obtain insurance that covers you with state-mandated liability limits. Those minimums are as follows:

North Dakota law states that if you’re not covered for the liability minimums, it’s a Class B misdemeanor which will result in a $150 fine. If you become involved in an accident while underinsured, you may receive up to 14 penalty points.

You may opt for additional auto insurance coverage in North Dakota. These options include comprehensive and collision coverage, which go above and beyond the basic policy to protect your assets even more. Collision covers you if you strike another vehicle or an object, while comprehensive covers other events, such as fire or theft, or if you hit an animal (such as a deer) with your car.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in North Dakota?

The average cost of car insurance in North Dakota varies between each driver. We provide a breakdown of the amount you can expect to pay on car insurance policy costs by county for vehicle types below for a minimum state policy of the average driver:

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Adams$820$629$866$656$809
Barnes$590$445$638$472$578
Benson$831$632$889$665$817
Billings$849$669$895$696$838
Bottineau$810$611$868$644$796
Bowman$902$711$948$738$891
Burke$925$709$991$746$910
Burleigh$658$503$705$530$646
Cass$590$445$638$472$578
Cavalier$781$595$833$625$769
Dickey$761$575$798$605$749
Divide$925$709$991$746$910
Dunn$935$717$999$753$920
Eddy$774$600$820$627$762
Emmons$774$600$820$627$762
Foster$774$600$820$627$762
Golden Valley$849$669$895$696$838
Grand Forks$715$535$762$568$701
Grant$906$677$970$713$891
Griggs$774$600$798$627$762
Hettinger$820$629$866$656$809
Kidder$781$595$833$625$769
Lamoure$802$616$798$646$790
Logan$802$616$798$646$790
Mchenry$810$611$868$644$796
Mcintosh$774$600$798$627$762
Mckenzie$935$717$999$753$920
Mclean$828$654$874$681$816
Mercer$935$717$999$753$920
Morton$783$596$841$630$768
Mountrail$852$703$798$746$910
Nelson$774$600$820$627$762
Oliver$906$677$970$713$891
Pembina$781$595$833$625$769
Pierce$810$611$868$644$796
Ramsey$781$595$833$625$769
Ransom$590$445$638$472$578
Renville$911$707$968$740$897
Richland$616$466$664$493$604
Rolette$810$611$868$644$796
Sargent$616$466$664$493$604
Sheridan$810$611$868$644$796
Sioux$906$677$970$713$891
Slope$902$711$948$738$891
Stark$849$669$783$696$838
Steele$636$486$684$513$624
Stutsman$685$523$739$553$673
Towner$810$611$868$644$796
Traill$715$535$774$568$701
Walsh$715$535$774$568$701
Ward$782$581$850$620$766
Wells$831$632$889$665$817
Williams$855$697$783$746$910

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in North Dakota

The State of North Dakota recognizes that some drivers have difficulty obtaining insurance. If you have previous driving penalties that prevent you from obtaining insurance, you can receive state assistance. This assistance comes from the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan.

The NDAIP provides auto insurance to you if you cannot get a policy due to your driving history. If you meet the following requirements, you are eligible for the plan:

If you have a problem with your auto insurance agent or insurance company, you can contact the North Dakota Insurance Department for advice.

Tips for Finding North Dakota Auto Insurance

To obtain legal auto insurance in North Dakota, you must use a company that is licensed to insure drivers in the state. Don’t rely on a company to truthfully tell you whether it has these permissions. You can also get multiple free car insurance quotes from insuranceQuotes.com, so you be sure that you’re getting best deal on your insurance.

If you are a student, you may qualify for a discount on your auto insurance for good grades, typically a B average or above. Not all North Dakota auto insurance companies offer this, but some do. Students and adults may also receive a discount for:

Moving to North Dakota: Important Information

If you’re moving to North Dakota, the North Dakota Department of Transportation has certain requirements for driving your vehicle there. Upon arriving in the state, you need to submit your existing title with your vehicle registration application. If there is an outstanding loan on your car, you must also send details of the loan and the bank.

If you are a driver from one of the following states or countries, you must pay an excise tax on your vehicle:

Understanding Driving Laws in North Dakota

In North Dakota, you can’t get a driving license if you are under the age of 16.

During the winter, driving becomes hazardous in many parts of North Dakota, which means the state authorities take necessary precautions to prevent you from injuring yourself. If you attempt to enter an area that is closed off due to weather conditions, you can incur a fine of $250 and receive four penalty points on your driving record.

It is not legal to drive while texting in North Dakota. If you choose to do this, you can face a fine of $100. The same rule applies to reading a message while driving.

If you drive with a blood alcohol content level (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, you may face DUI charges. If you’re under 21, the legal BAC limit is 0.02 percent. Refusal to take a BAC test can result in a losing your license for up to 3 years, depending on how many times you are caught driving drunk.

Frequently Asked Questions About North Dakota Auto Insurance

1. Who has to file an SR22 financial responsibility listing?

Certain drivers must prove to the state that they are capable of meeting financial liability. These drivers are:

You need to prove you can cover state mandated financial liabilities if you fall into this category. This usually involves producing a valid auto insurance certificate.

2. Does the North Dakota Insurance Department set rates?

Although the North Dakota Insurance Department regulates rates, it does not set them. The state encourages competition among insurers, so as the consumer, your best option is to shop around.

3. Does North Dakota offer insurance premium reduction courses?

The North Dakota Highway Patrol offers a list of approved auto insurance premium reduction courses. This includes both classroom based and online courses.

How to Get Great Rates on North Dakota Auto Insurance

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.