Kentucky Auto Insurance Quotes
If you want to drive in Kentucky, then you must have auto insurance as mandated by the Department of Motor Vehicles Regulation (DMVR). Registered vehicles in Kentucky must have liability insurance that meets the following requirements:
- $25,000 for injury/death for one person.
- $50,000 for all injuries per accident.
- $10,000 for property damage.
Kentucky is a no-fault state, so insurers must offer Personal Injury Protection. You can decide to opt-out with a written application filed to the Department of Insurance. This coverage provides up to $10,000 for bodily injury expenses regardless of who caused the accident. However, this policy limits your ability to sue other drivers in the event of an accident.
Kentucky has a higher percentage of uninsured drivers than other states. However, you are not required to purchase Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Kentucky
You have many different resources available for finding information about Kentucky auto insurance requirements and policy options. Although the Kentucky DMV is a great learning center, talking with local insurers can be very beneficial.
If you have a history of accidents or citations and you can’t seem to find insurance coverage, you can apply for the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan (KAIP). The KAIP offers high risk individuals the option of coverage. This plan shares risk among companies providing auto insurance in Kentucky, so the premiums are still manageable.
The Kentucky Insurance Arbitration Association also provides mediation services if you need help filing a complaint.
Getting Lower Premiums on Kentucky Auto Insurance
To get a cheaper auto insurance policy in Kentucky, you may have to compare rates from several different insurance companies. However, there are a couple of things you can do to get lower rates, including:
- Ask about discounts for taking a Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course.
- Maintain a good credit score.
- Create an emergency fund of up to $1,500.
- Increase your deductible.
- Drop collision and comprehensive coverage for older vehicles and those already paid off.
- Ask about loyalty discounts.
- Ask about pay-as-you-drive discounts if you don’t drive very often.
One of the most important things that you can do to lower your rates is maintain a good driving record. Discounts for good driving vary by company, but most offer a small discount if you haven’t had an at-fault accident or traffic violations in the last three years.
Moving to Kentucky: Important Information
You’ll need to get a Kentucky driver’s license and a Kentucky registration for your vehicle when you move to the state.
The DMV gives you 30 days to get your new license after you move to Kentucky. To obtain your license, you must go to your local Circuit Court Clerk‘s office and bring a proof of residency, your birth certificate, Social Security card, and your out-of-state license. If you’re a student, you don’t need to transfer your license, but you do need to keep your student ID with you while driving.
When you arrive in Kentucky, you only have 10 days to register your vehicle. To register your vehicle, head to your local County Clerk’s office with the following:
- Completed Application for Kentucky Title/Registration form.
- Notarized and signed copy of your vehicle’s title.
- Proof of insurance.
- Proof of vehicle inspection from your local sheriff’s office.
Understanding Driving Laws in Kentucky
While you’re driving in Kentucky, there are some specific driving laws you should know about.
Like most states, Kentucky has a point system to help you improve on your driving habits before license suspension or revocation occurs. The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet keeps track of your points and offenses. If you receive as much as six points, the Division of Driver Licensing may contact you to take action to improve your driving.
Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs and/or alcohol is strictly forbidden and enforced. A first DUI offense in Kentucky results in a jail sentence from 2 to 30 days, fines, license suspension, alcohol or drug treatment programs, and community labor.
Frequently Asked Questions About Kentucky Auto Insurance
1. What ways can you prevent car theft?
Car theft is a major problem for insurance companies, which is one of the reasons why more expensive cars require higher premiums. To prevent car theft, always park in a well-lit, patrolled area and install alarms, steering wheel locks, and tracking systems such as LoJack.
2. What type of deductible should you choose?
You should try to get the highest deductible you can get to receive lower monthly payments. Cover the small claims yourself and let the insurance company handle the more expensive ones. Of course, this can be a bad option if you are a poor driver and make frequent claims due to accidents.
3. How do you know if your car is totaled?
Your insurer decides if your car is totaled, which means that the cost of repairs exceeds the car’s value. When this occurs, your insurer gets to keep your car and sends you a check for the car’s market worth.
How to Get Great Rates on Kentucky Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Kentucky Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just auto insurance quotes in Kentucky? Here are some resources for more information on Kentucky auto insurance and driving laws:
Kentucky Division of Vehicle Licensing
Insurance Information Institute
A general consumer resource for insurance-related issues
Kentucky Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Kentucky?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.