Texas Auto Insurance Quotes
If you’re a driver in Texas, then it’s your responsibility to ensure you have the right documents to operate and own a car. Before going on the road, you should make sure you have a license, a registered car and an auto insurance policy.
According to the Texas Department of Insurance, you must have enough insurance to cover the following minimum liability limits:
- $30,000 per person.
- $60,000 per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage.
This is known as 30/60/25 coverage.
You must carry proof of insurance at all times when you drive and show it to a police officer when asked, after an accident, when you renew your license or registration, and during you car inspection. If you don’t, you face a fine and potential license suspension.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Texas
If you want to know more about auto insurance in Texas, there are many places you can go. First, the Texas Department of Insurance website has important information on auto insurance and other types of coverage in the state.
There are two different offices for driver’s licenses and car registration. If you want to know how to get a new license, transfer your license or get your driving record, contact the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles or TxDMV, on the other hand, manages vehicle registration, inspections and even car dealer applications.
The average cost of auto insurance in Texas is $534 for minimum coverage at an annual rate. The average cost for full coverage insurance in TX including comprehensive and liability with collision costs around $1798 each year. There are many factors that will determine your exact final cost for auto insurance in Texas.
Tips for Saving on Texas Auto Insurance
Some motorists can qualify for discounts based on certain criteria, including:
1. If you are or have a young driver in the home, you know that teen drivers are more expensive to insure. Young drivers can, however, may get a discount by taking a DPS-approved driver education course.
2. Never let your insurance lapse. Texas law states that companies can hike your premiums if you drove uninsured for more than 30 days in the previous 12 months before your application.
3. Watch your credit score. According to the Texas Department of Insurance and the Office of Public Insurance Counsel, some companies may use your credit history as a factor when calculating your insurance premium. However, an insurance company can’t deny you coverage or cancel your policy based solely on your credit report.
Moving to Texas: Important Information
If you are moving to Texas from another state, don’t forget to take care of your license and car registration. According to TxDMV, you must register your car within 30 days of moving to Texas. To do this, you need to get a vehicle inspection, and then go to the county tax assessor-collector to get a title and registration.
To get a new Texas driver’s license, you must have been living in the state for at least 30 days. However, if you have a valid license from another state, you can surrender your out of state license and get a Texas license without taking any of the knowledge tests. You must do this within 90 days of moving to the state.
Understanding Driving Laws in Texas
Switching to a Texas license from another state’s license is simple because most traffic laws are the same from state to state. However, before you go out on the roads, make sure you read up on unique Texas driving laws.
There are some offenses that Texas considers severe enough for mandatory suspension. While some are obvious, such as felonies and providing false information, there are offenses on a smaller scale you should know, including:
- Overtaking and passing a school bus operating stop lights or a sign, even when safe to do so.
- Using a fake, suspended, revoked or altered license.
- Using someone else’s license.
- Lending out a permit or license.
Frequently Asked Questions About Texas Auto Insurance
1. Is your insurance valid in other places?
Other U.S. states and Canada will recognize your auto insurance. However, you will need to purchase additional insurance if you plan to go to Mexico, as this country does not accept most types of foreign insurance policies.
2. What are your rights as a consumer?
Texas insurance law has a Bill of Rights that outlines all your rights as a consumer. This includes the right to information from your insurance company, protection from excess limits, and information on payment plans and privacy.
3. Can a company cancel your policy as a result of a speeding ticket?
Yes, especially within the first 60 days of the policy’s implementation, as during this period Texas insurance companies can cancel a policy for any reason. Few insurers will cancel your policy based on one ticket, but they may raise your premium.
How to Get Great Rates on Texas Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.