Phoenix is the capital of the state of Arizona. The city is also the largest in the state and was incorporated in 1881. Phoenix has a rich Native American history that is still prevalent in the city to this day. Southwestern art, music and cuisine define the city.
Cheap Car Insurance is here to help you get the best car insurance to fit your needs in Phoenix, AZ. Get your free customized auto insurance quote today!
While Phoenix has problems with construction and congestion, the city is not known for major traffic issues. Residents and travelers who are passing through Phoenix can learn about delays due to road projects through the Arizona Department of Transportation.
– Auto Thefts: The FBI works to collect information about the crimes committed in U.S. cities each year. This data can be used to discover that there were 7,555 auto thefts in Phoenix.
– Property Crimes: A total of 64,479 property crimes occurred in the city of Phoenix.
– Crash Statistics: The Arizona Department of Transportation reports that there were 30,662 total crashes in the city of Phoenix.
– Drunk Driving: A total of 1,366 alcohol-related crashes occurred in Phoenix.
All front-seat occupants of a car in Arizona must wear a seat belt, and all occupants under age 16 must wear a seat belt, regardless of where they’re sitting. The law goes a step further for any passenger under age 5: They must be sitting in a child safety seat.
All operators and passengers of motorcycles who are under age 18 must wear a helmet.
In Arizona, teen drivers are barred from texting or otherwise using a cellphone while driving in the first six months after getting a licensed or driving with a learners permit. Other Arizona drivers are allowed to text or talk on cellphones when they’re behind the wheel.
In Arizona, any driver who’s at least 21 years old will receive a DUI if the blood alcohol content (BAC) is above 0.08 percent. When a law enforcement officer pulls over a driver suspected of DUI, a field sobriety test will be given. If a driver refuses to take the test, that will result in an automatic one-year suspension of his or her driver’s license when it’s a first-time offense. Refusing to take the test will lead to two-year license suspension for a second or third offense.
For a driver under age 21, his or her Arizona license may be suspended if there is any BAC at all.
If convicted of a first-time DUI, you’ll be jailed for at least 10 consecutive days and be fined at least $1,250. In addition, you’ll be required to undergo alcohol treatment and education, install an ignition interlock device and perform community service.