What Car Insurance Is Required in Utah?

How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Utah?

Compare the best car insurance rates today.

Utah requires every registered vehicle in the state to have no-fault insurance. This insurance covers you whether or not you are at fault in an accident. Here are the mandatory minimum coverage levels:

While you need these insurance minimums, most people choose to get more protection in order to protect their assets. Utah also requires that you carry your proof of insurance card with you whenever you drive. There are fines for not having insurance. You can check this information at the state’s code section: Title 31A Chapter 22.

Auto Insurance Rates for Utah

Your auto insurance rate depends on the car you drive, your risk rate, and how often you drive. Insurers provide one of three ratings for most drivers. The rating heavily influences your premiums but good driving can change it. These include:

Preferred drivers usually get the best premiums while non-standard drivers get the most expensive. You can influence which rate you get by maintaining a good driving record. Driving less will also influence your rate. Most insurance agencies consider teens to be high risk.

Auto Insurance Costs by County:Sedan:SUV:Coupe:Truck:Hybrid:
Box Elder$1,208$988$1,165$1,111$1,238
Salt Lake$1,214$1,004$1,182$1,196$1,251
San Juan$1,214$1,004$1,175$1,163$1,251

Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Utah

There are plenty of websites and associations to help you with your insurance. The Motor Vehicle Division of the Utah State Commission is a good place to start. This is Utah’s official DMV website. You can get your vehicle registration and driver’s license from the website. You can also find a range of information including forms, prints, and publications on the site.

The Utah Insurance Department posts a great deal of valuable information on its site. Part of what it covers includes avoiding fake insurance companies. It also keeps a list of known unauthorized insurers. You can use the site to get information, file a complaint, or check on your insurance company.

Tips for Optional Insurance in Utah

Liability, Damage, and Personal Injury Protection insurance are required in Utah. You can also go with other types of coverage. Your insurer has to offer you uninsured motorist coverage when it sells you a policy. You can refuse this coverage; however, experts advise that you buy it for your own protection. Studies show that 6 percent or more of Utah drivers are uninsured. An uninsured motorist policy will cover an accident with one of these drivers, but your standard policy will not.

You can also choose other coverage options. Some options include collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. Collision covers you in the event of a crash while comprehensive coverage protects you in the event of fire, theft, or other non-driving related incidents. Both of these protect your vehicle in ways that other insurance does not. You can also consider increasing your insurance. Some people choose to go with a $50,000 per-person policy rather than the $25,000 rate set by the state.

Moving to Utah: Important Information

If you are moving to Utah, you need to consider the rules of the state. As a resident of Utah, you must register your vehicle in the state. You also have to have insurance. If your vehicle has been in Utah for more than 90 days within the past 365 days then you also need insurance. You have 60 days from the time of moving to Utah to get a registration.

You need your insurance before you register your vehicle. You also need a Form TC-661 Certificate of Inspection. A licensed Utah inspector or DMV employee must fill out this form in order to be valid. You can also have the inspection performed when you go to have your vehicle registered. Your vehicle may also need a safety and emissions test. You can check the Vehicle Inspections requirement list to see if your vehicle needs an inspection.

If you own or rent a home, register a vehicle, or go to work in Utah then you need a Utah driver’s license. If you are a resident, there is no grace period for getting your license. This is different from most other states.

Understanding Driving Laws in Utah

There are many driving laws in place in Utah and all of them protect you on the road. For a full update on new laws, consider reading the Utah Driver Handbook.

Utah forbids drivers of any age to text while driving. It is also illegal for drivers who are 18 and under to use a cell phone while driving. Utah’s maximum blood alcohol level for a DUI charge is .08 percent. Driving at this level of intoxication can result in a 120-day license suspension and potential jail time for subsequent offenses.

Utah also reserves the right to arrest anyone who is driving aggressively. A display of three or more aggressive driving behaviors may add a negative point to your license. Points are used by insurance companies for risk evaluation and may be used to charge you a higher premium.

Frequently Asked Questions About Utah Auto Insurance

Who is Insure-Rite?

Insure-Rite checks insurance for the Utah DMV. Its job is to collect insurance details to make sure that everyone is insured. If you are not insured or have falsified a claim, then you can have your registration revoked.

How much is auto insurance per month in Utah?

Your monthly rate for auto insurance in Utah will depend on your age, personal situation, and driving history. According to thezebra.com, the average cost for Utah rates come out to about $109 per month. This number also depends on what kind of coverage you choose to get.

How can you save money on Utah insurance?

The best way to save money on insurance is to shop around. Remember to ask your agent about the discounts the company offers, and then see if you qualify for any of them. Insuring multiple vehicles at once can often reduce your rates per vehicle.

What is PIP?

Personal injury protection or PIP is a type of insurance coverage required by Utah law. PIP covers your hospital bills in case you are injured. Your standard insurance only covers the other person.

How to Get Great Rates on Auto Insurance, Utah

Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.

insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.

Utah Auto Insurance Resources

Need more than just Utah free car insurance quotes? In addition to your Utah auto insurance quotes, here are some resources that may help.

Utah Division of Motor Vehicles

Offering online registration renewal and general driver information


insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology

Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.