Indiana Auto Insurance Quotes
If you live in Indiana, you must have auto insurance on any vehicle you drive. How much you pay depends on many things, including who you are, where you live, driving record and your vehicle.
You can reduce your rates by driving a safer car, or buying a policy with a higher deductible. Your deductible is how much you pay when you have an accident, before the insurance company steps in. Also, the better your driving record, typically the lower your rate.
Your rate is based on your chances of an accident. Your chances go up the more you drive, and the more cars there are on the road where you drive. Age and gender also play a role. Young men have more accidents than any other group of drivers.
Things to Know about Indiana Auto Insurance
Your policy must have uninsured and underinsured motorist protection unless you reject it in writing. You must have liability insurance, but the state also wants you to have protection in case the other driver doesn’t have enough insurance.
You have to carry at least this much insurance:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury coverage
- $50,000 total in bodily injury coverage
- $10,000 in property damage insurance
Your insurance company must offer this much underinsured protection with every policy:
- $50,000 underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Your insurance agent must send a Certificate of Compliance to the BMV after every accident or violation.
You can go without insurance if you can prove your financial responsibility according to IC 9-25-4-7. This is much more expensive than insurance. You have to either post a bond or make a very large deposit.
Moving to Indiana: Important Information
After you move to Indiana, you have 60 days to get an Indiana driver’s license. If you have a valid driver’s license from another state, you can exchange it for an Indiana license. You will need to bring a copy of your driving record and pass a knowledge and vision test. You must also bring ID to get your driver’s license. You need to prove who you are and that you are in the U.S. legally.
If you do not have a valid license from another state, you must first get a learner’s permit. You must have the learner’s permit for 180 days before you can apply for an Indiana driver’s license.
When you bring a car from another state, you have 60 days to title and register it in Indiana.
Understanding Driving Laws in Indiana
Every driver in Indiana must follow its driving laws. Indiana has laws for seat belt use, cellphone use, and headlight use. You must turn your headlights on at any time between dusk and dawn and use them whenever visibility drops below 500 feet.
Everyone in a car must wear a seatbelt whenever it’s moving. Children between 8 and 15 must wear seat belts at all times. Children under 8 need either a child safety seat or a booster depending on how big they are.
No one is allowed to text while driving in Indiana. Teen drivers cannot use phones at all, but adults can make calls.
Frequently Asked Questions About Indiana Auto Insurance
Can every driver in Indiana get insurance?
Indiana has a program to make sure every driver has insurance. Every insurance company must take part in it, and cover their share of difficult cases.
How easily can companies cancel policies?
After 60 days, the insurance company cannot cancel your policy without a reason. Your policy can be cancelled if you do not pay, or if you lose your license.
How hard is it to reinstate lapsed insurance in Indiana?
You will pay more for insurance if you let it lapse. You have to pay a reinstatement fee and many insurance companies also impose a surcharge for a new policy.
How to Get Great Rates on Indiana Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance quotes within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Indiana Auto Insurance Resources
If you want to know about more than just Indiana auto insurance quotes, we’ve provided you with some informative websites:
Indiana Department of Insurance
Information and resources on the laws governing insurance in Illinois
Indiana Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Indiana?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.