Nebraska Auto Insurance Quotes
To drive legally in the Cornhusker State, you must provide proof of financial responsibility in the form of an insurance certificate. Self-insuring individuals and businesses sponsoring an employee in the state may provide a security bond. Auto insurance in Nebraska requires the following liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injuries inflicted on another person.
- $50,000 for bodily injuries inflicted on more than one person.
- $25,000 covering property damage.
To register as a driver in Nebraska, you must provide the state of Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with evidence of your insurance. A copy is not sufficient, which means you must give the original documents.
Certain drivers in Nebraska pay more for their premiums than others. The Nebraska Department of Insurance states that the following can potentially reduce your premium:
- Maintaining a good driving record by minimizing violations and at-fault accidents.
- Enhancing the safety equipment of your car by using anti-theft devices and airbags.
- Adding two or more cars to one policy.
- Completing all policy details accurately to ensure your insurance is right for your vehicle.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Nebraska
In the State of Nebraska, the DMV is your first port of call for most auto insurance problems. Through the Nebraska DMV site, you can access information regarding legislation.
In Nebraska, the lemon law protects drivers who cannot insure a car due to chronic problems occurring following a purchase. If you experience problems within a year of purchasing a car, you can enter into arbitration with the seller, or you can sue the seller in court. The same process applies if your car is still under warranty. Although the lemon law comes with strict requirements, its existence does permit you to enter into arbitration proceedings if you experience certain problems.
Tips for Motorists Insuring Their Cars in Nebraska
In Nebraska, certain vehicles do not require insurance. If you own one of the following, you do not need to purchase insurance:
- Dealer-plated vehicle.
- Camper on the back of a truck (the truck must have insurance.)
- Trailer (the vehicle pulling the trailer must have insurance.)
If you want to register 26 vehicles or more, you can self-insure. Self-insurance in Nebraska is free. To proceed with self-insurance, you need to fill in the Nebraska DMV Self-Insurance Form.
Like other states, Nebraska’s DMV only permits certain companies to provide auto insurance. The Nebraska Department of Insurance lists accepted providers and producers. You can use their search website to find an insurer or agent.
Moving to Nebraska: Important Information
After moving to Nebraska, you have a 30-day grace period to register your vehicle with the DMV. Make the most of this period by checking with the Nebraska Department of Insurance to see if your current provider covers you in the state. If this is not the case, begin searching for a new one.
If you are new to Nebraska, you should know that county offices handle vehicle registration. The Motor Vehicles Offices listing provides you with details of what each county requires. You need to provide the registration title from your home state to the county office local to you and you must allow them to inspect your vehicle. This sometimes requires more than one visit to the office.
Understanding Driving Laws in Nebraska
If you are driving in Nebraska, you can consult the State of Nebraska Driving Manual for a comprehensive overview of driving laws. However, for all drivers, it is important to recognize certain laws right away.
If you are a minor or juvenile living in Nebraska, you face consequences for certain legal breaches. If you are 17 and under and you take drugs, you can lose your license for 30 days. If officers suspect you are under the influence of drugs, they can request a chemical test at the station. Refusing to comply can also result in license suspension. If you drive with a Blood Alcohol Level (BAC) level of 0.02 percent or higher under the age of 20, you can lose your license for 90 days. Any juvenile court case can result in a 30-day license revocation.
If you are 21 or over and you drive with a blood alcohol content level over 0.08, you can lose your license for 90 days or more. If you refuse to consent to a blood or breathalyzer test, you can face the same penalties.
It is a secondary offense to drive while using a handheld wireless device in Nebraska. This includes cellular phones and tablets. If you do this, you face a hefty fine.
Frequently Asked Questions About Nebraska Auto Insurance
1. What can you do if an insurance company claims an accident was your fault when it wasn’t?
Your record with the DMV will state that you were involved in an accident without stating whose fault it was. If your insurance company indicates on its records that you are at fault and you believe you were not, obtain your accident record from the Nebraska Department of Roads Accident Records. Use your record as evidence of the other driver’s liability when challenging the company’s findings.
2. What are the penalties for registering after a 30-day grace period in Nebraska?
If you register after the 30-day grace period, there are no penalties. However, you can face legal repercussions if you drive without insurance or registration.
3. What happens if you lose your license due to an underlying medical condition?
The State of Nebraska allows you to apply for a medical hardship reinstatement of your license. However, this is only if your underlying condition does not prevent you from driving safely. For example, if an accident occurs due to poor vision, you may not regain your license until you address the condition.
How to Get Great Rates on Nebraska Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Nebraska Auto Insurance Resources
We offer more than just awesome Nebraska car insurance quotes. Check out these resources in addition to your Nebraska free car insurance quotes:
Nebraska Department of Insurance
Provides consumer information on Nebraska insurance rules and regulations, consumer alerts, and more
Nebraska Division of Motor Vehicles
Nebraska’s online portal for driver licensing and records; vehicle titles, registrations, plates and permits; and highway safety
Nebraska Insurance Consumer Information
Getting Smart About Insurance brochure
Nebraska Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Nebraska?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.