Tennessee Auto Insurance Quotes
As with any state in the country, Tennessee has its share of vehicle-related risks. An accident can occur at any time, even when you’re simply backing out of your driveway.
The state of Tennessee doesn’t require drivers to maintain auto insurance. However, you must prove financial responsibility, and having liability insurance is one way to show this. You can also post a bond or qualify as a self-insurer if you choose not to have insurance. Minimum liability coverages limits are:
- $25,000 for an injury or death.
- $50,000 for all injuries or deaths in one accident.
- $15,000 for property damage for one accident.
If you incur a traffic violation and you don’t have the minimum liability coverage, the violation remains on your record, making it impossible to renew your license or registration.
Finding Auto Insurance Resources in Tennessee
The Department of Commerce and Insurance provides information on rate changes for insurance companies. The listing can give you a starting point to find an insurance company. It also publishes a guide with tips about auto insurance that explains coverage types in an auto policy and how insurers determine your rate.
Buying Auto Insurance in Tennessee
The Department of Commerce and Insurance has a list of some insurance companies that write policies in Tennessee. You’ll want to compare the rates and coverages of several companies to find the best policy for you.
Insurance companies use a lot of information to determine the rate someone pays for a policy. The driving records of you and others on your policy are important factors. Companies also use information from your credit report. Most insurance companies use your credit report to come up with a credit-based insurance score. Studies show a correlation between your insurance score and the likelihood of filing a claim.
Moving to Tennessee: Important Information
You can register your vehicle in Tennessee by submitting an application through the office of your local county clerk. Depending on the county, you may have to get an emission test. You’ll also need your current registration, the title or the information for your lien holder, and proof of identification and residency. Acceptable items for proof of identification include:
- Driver’s license or photo ID.
- Proof of citizenship, such as a birth certificate.
- Military identification card.
- Immigration documentation.
To get a Tennessee driver’s license, you must show proof of residency with at least two pieces of acceptable information that includes your name and address, such as a utility bill or bank statement. You also need to show proof that you legally live in the United States.
Understanding Driving Laws in Tennessee
Tennessee enforces many driving laws to keep its residents safe on the roadways, including:
- It is illegal to text while driving.
- You must move over or slow down when passing a stopped emergency vehicle with its lights on. The driver and all passengers must wear seat belts.
- Children younger than 8 who meet height restrictions must be in a child restraint device, and infants must be in a rear-facing child restraint device.
- Speeding through construction zones carries a hefty fine.
If you’re convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol in Tennessee, you are subject to a fine and jail time. You face greater penalties if children are in the car. You’ll also have to pay to have your car towed and stored while you sort through your legal issues.
Frequently Asked Questions About Tennessee Auto Insurance
1. Why do you need auto insurance?
Insurance covers you in case of an accident where you or a vehicle suffers damage as a result. It also covers anyone else involved in an accident that you caused. Tennessee law doesn’t require insurance, but if you don’t have it, you have to prove you can pay for injuries or damage in the event of an accident.
2. How much insurance do you need?
Tennessee state law sets minimum liability limits. If you finance your car, your lender will most likely require you to have collision and comprehensive coverage as well. You can also purchase gap coverage, which protects you if you owe more than your car is worth.
3. Where can you find information on getting insurance in Tennessee?
Start with the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. You can also contact individual insurance companies for information to compare rates and coverage.
How to Get Great Rates on Tennessee Auto Insurance
Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates by phone or email within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Tennessee Auto Insurance Resources
Need more than just Tennessee free car insurance quotes? In addition to your Tennessee auto insurance quotes, here are some resources that may help.
Tennessee Insurance Division – Cars and Transportation
Information for Tennessee residents on state insurance laws and regulations
Tennessee Department of Safety
An online resource for driver education, licensing and vehicle registration
Tennessee Cell Phone Driving Laws
Can you talk and drive in Tennessee?
insuranceQuotes.com Auto Rate Methodology
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.