The average policy rates on car insurance in Florida for state minimum liability coverage can run anywhere from $815 to $1,475 a year or around $96 a month for a single vehicle policy with a clean driving record. For a full coverage policy you could expect to pay around $2,070 a year.
Auto liability insurance rates in FL also vary by the type of vehicle you drive as seen below:
The data we’ve compiled is based off of one car and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 comprehensive and collision deductibles. The driver is 40 years old, married, employed, a college graduate, and has a good credit score rating with a clean driving record. Your exact car insurance quotes will vary, but this gives a Florida driver a good idea of what to expect in auto insurance rates by their county when comparing quotes as seen below:
In Florida, which ranks as the 6th most expensive state for car insurance, the average annual cost of an auto policy is $1,546. But, depending on where you live, the cost can end up being much higher or lower.
“Geography and population density play an important role in determining what Floridians pay for auto insurance,” said Laura Adams, senior insurance analyst at insuranceQuotes. “Living in more densely populated areas comes with a higher likelihood of accidents because there are more drivers on the road—which in turn drives up your car insurance rates.”
The following cities, on average, have the most expensive annual auto insurance rates in Florida:
Meanwhile, the following five cities have the least expensive:
The study also ranked policy costs by county, finding that Miami-Dade was the most expensive, with an average annual cost of $2,457, i.e. 58.9% above the state average—and that Alachua was the least expensive county, with an average annual cost of $1,177, i.e. 23.9% below the state average.
The minimum coverage you are required to carry as a Florida resident is liability auto insurance on any vehicle you own, whether it is regularly driven or not. Vehicles with auto loans are required by the lender to have full coverage until the loan is paid off. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires you to have the following coverage in order to obtain a Florida license plate:
Florida’s minimum liability auto insurance amounts are regulated by the Florida Department of Financial Services (FDFS). This department also mandates the Florida Financial Responsibility Law and the Florida No-Fault Law. Insurance policies issued in Florida should meet the requirements of these laws.
To meet the minimum requirements of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law, your auto insurance must have the following:
To meet the minimum requirements of the Florida No-Fault Law, your auto insurance must have the following:
The Florida DMV is a good resource to start with when learning about the requirements and regulations surrounding automobile coverage. The state DMV offers assistance to drivers who need help with traffic schools (either online or in a physical location), defensive driving courses, vehicle history reports, and general information about driving in Florida.
As a driver in Florida, one of the biggest things you need to know about having auto insurance is that if you let your policy lapse and do not obtain an alternate source of insurance, your driver’s license can be suspended until you provide adequate proof of insurance. Insurance companies report all lapses in coverage and canceled policies to the state. If local law enforcement finds you driving without proof of insurance, you will be ticketed.
There are many discounts available to Florida auto insurance policyholders. Being a good driver, having passive restraints, having vehicle alarms, parking a vehicle in a garage, and having airbags in the vehicle are all examples of discounts insurance companies may offer.
Insurance premiums also vary greatly depending on where in Florida you live, so be sure to factor in your city and county when budgeting for your insurance.
The state of Florida requires all new residents to obtain a driver’s license within 30 days of moving to Florida. It’s a good idea to make an appointment with the local DMV office, as long lines are possible.
To obtain a license as an out-of-state driver, you must do the following:
In addition, your driving record will be checked. Should a questionable driving history be found, you might be required to take a written exam.
You are also required to register any vehicle in Florida within 10 days of establishing residency or registering a child in the Florida school system. To register a vehicle, you must have proof of insurance with the minimum Florida requirements, proof of ownership, and verification of the Vehicle Identification Number, or VIN.
One important thing to note: You must obtain your driver’s license before you may register a vehicle.
The driving laws in Florida are similar to other driving laws across the country. Using your turn signal, coming to a complete stop at a stop sign, and yielding to pedestrians and emergency vehicles are some of the driving laws Floridians violate quite often. To familiarize yourself with Florida’s driving laws, you can read the Florida driver’s manual.
One important law passed in Florida in June 2013 prohibits texting while driving. This law becomes effective in October 2013. If you are caught by local law enforcement texting while driving, you will be ticketed.
Florida utilizes a graduated licensing program, similar to what is the norm in many other states. This kind of system restricts the privileges of young drivers, but allows them to safely gain driving experience in lower-risk conditions.
Since drivers must have liability insurance to get a valid driving permit under Florida law, parents have two options regarding auto insurance for their teenagers in Florida. They can either add them to their insurance policy or purchase a separate policy for them. Purchasing a separate policy for their teenager would incur higher costs, but would provide more coverage for the teen. Adding the teen to their current policy would not be as expensive, but may not provide as much insurance coverage for them. It is up to the parent to decide what is best for them and their teen.
Looking for cheap car insurance in Florida? Finding an auto insurance quote can seem overwhelming – but insuranceQuotes.com helps you find the best car insurance policy at the best price. Every year, we match 15 million consumers to the nation’s biggest auto insurance companies, including State Farm, Allstate and Liberty Mutual.
insuranceQuotes.com connects you with local and national insurance companies that give you free car insurance estimates within minutes. By comparing multiple quotes, you can be sure that you’re getting the best price for car insurance.
Rates are based on one vehicle and one driver who has state minimum coverage with $500 deductibles. The hypothetical driver is 35 years old, female or male, employed, a college graduate, and has good credit. She has no traffic violations, claims, or lapse in coverage. The vehicle is assumed to be a sedan that is garaged on premises, used primarily for commuting, and driven 16,000 miles per year. Rates include commonly available carrier discounts and are estimates and not guaranteed.